I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 2: Poems and Plagarism

Hello guys and welcome to another chapter of I’m Wittier in Writing!

img_8023-2

For those who don’t know I’m Wittier In Writing is a post fortnightly meme created by yours truly just to share my trials and tribulations that might have happened over the past two weeks connected to my writings. I just this might be a good place to express my feelings over my writing experience and hopefully these might be a little bit relatable.

Here is the previous chapter if you want to check it out: I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 1: Suffocation, Frustration and Inspiration?


 

I don’t read a lot of poems. That’s probably a bad thing considering what I’m going to say next but it’s true. I don’t read poems. So why do I want to write them? That’s a tricky question for myself to answer. So as you guys know I’ve been editing my NaNoWriMo novel when I get the spare time and I few days ago while I was editing it a thought clicked into my head- what if this was a poem? I hope this doesn’t sound too crazy but I really believe in this idea. What I know is that I want this story to be told, but I’m not sure if I want it to be told in novel form. I’ll probably have to experiment a bit before coming to a solid decision. But the cogs are turning.

I am finally writing! Remember two weeks ago when I said that I have this new novel idea kind of rolling about in my head but I was a little bit stuck about it? Probably not, but I did and I finally started writing a bit. I realised that I was getting bogged down with the idea a bit and I kind of stripped it down bare. Now I have a simple idea but loads of places to go with it and that doesn’t daunt me anymore.  But I do have one little problem and it starts with the letter P. Plagarism is always a worry while writing and reading! I don’t want to have a really good idea in my head and then stumble upon a book that has already fulfilled that idea. The thing that I am writing now doesn’t seem familiar but can easily become that book that was just like Book A or something. Hey, well at least I don’t have a strange case of writer’s block!

writers-block-quote

Writing groups, do you have one? I don’t think I want to join one as I like writing in my bed, with a hot cup of lemon water and The Hoosiers banging through my eardrums. Not siting still and being on my best behaviour and making sure I am politically correct when speaking. I guess it’s a good thing to get instant feedback as well though I doubt how genuine it is going to be as you are only sitting a centimeters away from the person. I would love to know your view on them!

7213_movies-lord-of-the-rings-hobbit-elijah-wood-opinion_200s


Those are all of my thoughts at the moment! Feel free to comment down below about what you think of my strange musings and I’ll comment back!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

15 thoughts on “I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 2: Poems and Plagarism

  1. jbgarner58 says:

    I know next to nothing about poetry, but the idea of the epic poem or lyrical tale or what not is a powerful one.

    Conga Rats on more writing! I wouldn’t worry yourself about having an idea that might wind up like another writer’s. There are so many books and so many tales told you can’t let yourself worry about that. Just write your book with as much ‘you’ as you can and it’ll be unique, trust me!

    I have no experience with writing groups myself. I guess I’m the same way … I crave my privacy when I write and I’m afraid of being too opinionated when it comes to discussing writing with others.

    Liked by 2 people

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Those were along the lines I was thinking of. Just an idea of course but it will be cool to play around with it.
      That’s what I keep telling myself! It’s just my doubts ebbing away a bit on my creativity slightly. Thank you for the advice!
      Good to know I’m not the only one! And it’s always hard for me to find a solid excuse for me to hang out with complete strangers and share a pierce of something important to me to them.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. RaeAnne says:

    Yay!! I’m so glad you’re no longer suffering from writer’s block!! It’s a beast. 😛 I can’t wait to see what you come up with!
    (I’m loving these posts, by the way!)

    I am not in any writing groups… I want my privacy. But I’m also pushing myself to actually discuss things with other people more, because it really is a good way to work out ideas and find new ones…and I need to be less self-conscious about my writing. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hannah Mae says:

    I think it’d be cool to write it as a poem. I’ve never read a book like that before but I’ve always wanted to. Don’t shy away from it just because you don’t read a lot of poems. But if you decide to read more poetry, you might want to check out Sarah Kay, if you haven’t already. Admittedly, she’s a spoken word poet, so there’s no real reading involved, but she’s what got me into poetry in the first place. She weaves stories really well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. BookMates says:

    Ahh writers block is a pain! When i started writing i always felt worried because of plagarism which made me want to stop writing and think of something else. But to be honest, what YOU write is unique because you write it in YOUR style. It can be a same aspect of a story that’s already out there but it’s different because the WAY you write it is different. Good luck with your writing!
    -Hafsa 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment