I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 4: Outlining + Pinterest= Drake Dancing GIF

Hello bibliophiles and bookworms! I hope everyone is doing splendid. I think it would be appropriate to say good luck to anybody participating in Camp NaNoWriMo! I’m not participating but I do relate to the struggle and excitement after doing NaNoWriMo last year!

img_8023-1

For anybody who don’t know, I’m Wittier In Writing is a post fortnightly meme created by me, Astra, so that I could share my trials and tribulations that might have happened over the past two weeks connected to my writings. I just this might be a good place to express my feelings over my writing experience and hopefully these might be a little bit relatable.

Here are my past ‘chapters’ if you want to check them out:

Chapter 1:Β Suffocation, Frustration and Inspiration?

Chapter 2: Poems and Plagarism

Chapter 3: Fifteen Minuets of Not Procrastinating


 

yes-gif-3

Before I get into my main topic this week, I decided that I’m going to go to the writer’s group thing. I think it’s kind of a ‘don’t knock it till you try it’ sort of thing so I’m taking the plunge and finally doing it! I’m not sure if I can go because I haven’t technically written anything, but it’s worth a shot- you only live once as the saying goes!

I have discovered the gloriousness of outlining (and I don’t care if that itsn’t a word)!

So yeah I am a pantser, or was really. For NaNoWriMo I was half a pantser, half a planner and I think the only way I got through it was by the planning- not the pantsing. But naive little Astra here didn’t know this so I went in head first for my new WIP and predictably started drowning.Β  I think I just had so many ideas rolling about in my head I just wanted to write it all down all at once, but then I couldn’t connect idea to idea, chapter to chapter, so I ended up not at a writer’s block, but kind of at an idea block.

butwhy

So I was kind of at a standstill at that point but then I realised -I need to outline! So now I am basically writing chapter by chapter outlines for my novel which is so enjoyable- I didn’t know outlining could be so fun! I mean it’s like you’re writing the novel but I think without the added pressure I put on myself while writing. I’m not sure how detailed or how long outlining should take (I’m not even sure how many chapters I’m going to have in my book) but I’m just going with the flow at the moment. I can definitely see who outlining will make the actually writing process easier and I’m kind of pinching myself because I didn’t actually do it for my NaNo novel.

So let’s talk about Pinterest. You are probably wondering why I have a Drake dancing to Hotline Bling GIF on this post well this is why- PINTEREST IS AWESOME! I already kind of knew this of course because I used it for my NaNo novel, but now I feel like I’m utilising it more if that makes sense.I have boards for my main characters and I’m thinking about making more because pinning really does spur me on to write and Pinterest is adding to my idea cauldron!

Pinterest + Outlining= Drake Dancing GIF

drake-13-w529-h352


That’s all folks! Tell me what you think about me taking the plunge and going to a writing group and Pinterest if you use it. And tell me if you outline and how you outline if you do! I am totally interested!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

InstagramΒ (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

23 thoughts on “I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 4: Outlining + Pinterest= Drake Dancing GIF

  1. jbgarner58 says:

    I tend to be a bit of both.

    I like to outline a chapter or so ahead, with a broad overall outline. At the same time, though, I am more than up for changing broad swaths of my storylines if the characters and events pull off the outline. Flexibility is key, at least for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Ohh are you doing Camp NaNo this month?! Good luck Astra, I really hope it’s going well for you so far! I’ve taken part in NaNo in November for the past three years, and I always seem to fail towards the end, I start off strong but then just procrastinate the rest of the month away.
    When it comes to stories I tend to be more the seat of my pants writer than anything else, could explain why I’ve failed to reach 50K the past three years!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Oh no, not this year anyway! I was going to do it, but then I realised I need to plan my story more then ‘beginning, middle and end’ hahahaha. I basically, scrapped by wining NaNoWriMo, I think I wrote like 5K on the last day hahahaha.
      I’m sure pantsers win NaNoWriMo! It’s not just the pantsers that suffer from procrastination I think *cough* 5k in one days *cough*

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        When it comes to NaNo I tend to just pour everything in my head onto the page (computer) I have literally nothing planned and I just kind of see where my writing takes me. Which is fun but like you said pantsers suffer from procrastination. I seriously do.
        But 5K in one day is pretty amazing! And hey if it helped you win as well that’s definitely something to be proud of!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Yeah I’m definitely gonna plan next time I do NaNo. I tried doing the by-the-seat-of-my-pants writing and it didn’t work so many planning will work better for me this time around πŸ˜€
        Ohh, treating yourself with chocolate is a good plan, I use crisps! After the week I had at work I need some crisps to treat myself.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        I don’t know if I’m taking part in NaNo this year, but if I am, then I am planning really hardcore!
        Well it was chocolate, sweets, popcorn and crisps for like two days after winning NaNo. I don’t know how I don’t have a heart condition yet!πŸ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I probably will every year until I reach the 50K target, that is my goal so maybe this year will be my year! And yeah, definitely DEFINITELY going to plan this year, it’ll probably help when I get stuck in the middle.
        With me it’s mainly crisps, a tub of Ben and Jerry’s if it’s a super special celebration (like when I officially handed in the last of my coursework for uni)!

        Like

  3. RaeAnne says:

    I probably should outline more…but I’ve managed to “finish” NaNoWriMo two years without doing so. (Just first drafts….)

    I need to find something I REALLY REALLY REALLY want to write and then see how much I decide to outline. I have yet to start a BIG project, so I don’t know for sure.

    I’ve never been one to outline, just doing the minimum, but can’t help but wonder how much help it might be for me!

    Good for you going to that writer’s group!!!!!!!! I hope you have the grandest of times!

    Like

Leave a Reply

