I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 5: Adult Fiction…But I’m A Teen!

Hello, hello HELLO everybody! I hope everybody is doing magnificent and their reading game is still going strong! After two weeks with hardly reading anything, I finished last week strong and managed to finish 3 books within 5 days! I am now on to City of Bones which is a thick book, so I might just read a graphic novel in between reading City of Bones. Anyway let’s get on with the post!

img_8023-3

For anybody who don’t know, I’m Wittier In Writing is a post fortnightly meme created by me, Astra, so that I could share my trials and tribulations that might have happened over the past two weeks connected to my writings. I just this might be a good place to express my feelings over my writing experience and hopefully these might be a little bit relatable.

Here are my past ‘chapters’ if you want to check them out:

Chapter 1:Β Suffocation, Frustration and Inspiration?

Chapter 2: Poems and Plagarism

Chapter 3: Fifteen Minuets of Not Procrastinating

Chapter 4: Outlining + Pinterest= Drake Dancing GIF


SO remember that writing club, group, thing that I was going to go to? Yep well that failed big time hahaha. The story is that I actually did go in some sorts. I went to the place where the group was and it had many floors. Before then I was around 10 minuetes late because crappy public transport is crappy, but there was this cafe area and I got some hot chocolate and sat down looking over myΒ  outline. I kind of thought that the group might be late so I just chilled there….for 20 minuets! I then ventured more around the building and realised I was on the wrong floor. When I got there, the group (which looked very close knit and cozy) were in the middle of a discussion and I was just kind of standing there awkwardly. After 10 minuetes of fake looking around I gave up and walked out the building and went home. Ta da! So that’s my fail!

I think what disheartened me was that everyone seemed really old. Well not old- but older then me. I kind of wanted a group where there would be other teens and young adults. Everyone seemed over 25. So I think I’m sitting out of the whole writing club debacle at the moment!

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/icarly/images/c/c1/Best-laughing-hysterically-gif.gif/revision/latest?cb=20151124011001

Anyway, what I really wanted to talk about in this chapter is an idea that popped into my head which I’m planning to write up a discussion post later in the week for. So basically I was just doing my every things when I realised LIGHTBULB MOMENT an idea for a story came into mind. And not any story, an adult (or general) fiction story. Which a) confused the hell out of me because I hardly read any general fiction and b) intrigued me. I might just put this story on Wattpad and see where it takes me, but basically the generally summary I have about this story is it’s a about a mum who, after her husband dies in a football related incident, decides that her son is not going to take part in any sport related activities and pushes him towards the more feminine aspects of life- to her son’s distaste of course. I’m planning this to be a short story and I’ll probably get writing it soon.

Is it really weird that I’m interested in writing an adult fiction story? I’ll get to more of the reader aspects in my discussion post, but I was just thinking that this story might totally flop for a number of reasons:

1. I am not over 30.

2. I have never been a wife.

3. I have never experienced the loss of an extremely close person in my life.

4. I have never had a child.

So this story is going to take plenty of research, I just hope I’m up to it!

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/mlp/images/b/bf/Doctor_wait_what.gif/revision/latest?cb=20140514224108


That is all I have to share for this week guys! Tell me what you think about the whole writing club debacle and about what you think about me, a teenager, writing an adult(general) fiction story!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

InstagramΒ (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

27 thoughts on “I’m Wittier In Writing- Chapter 5: Adult Fiction…But I’m A Teen!

  1. Hey Ashers! says:

    Oh, man, that’s an awful start to a writing group date. I’m sorry to hear it went so poorly!

    The fact that everyone in that group seems to be over 25 could be hugely in your favor, though, considering what your new story’s about. Who better to bounce ideas off of and receive critique from, than people who can really relate to your characters? Even if they don’t turn out to be your for-ever-and-always writing group, they might be exactly the one you need for this particular story.

    I’m obviously not in that writing group, and don’t know its members or qualifications, but: as someone who’s over 25 and has been in writing groups since I was a teen, I can tell you that you’ll probably receive much better writing advice and general insight from older writers than you would from fellow teens. And just because we’re over 25 doesn’t automatically mean we’re fusty and boring. (Okay, some of us are. But hopefully there’d be at least one or two in that group who aren’t!)

    Anyway, hurray for having that lightbulb moment! That’s such an awesome feeling. Best of luck with the story! =D

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Hahaha it’s okay! I’m just happy I had the guts to check it out in the first place. That’s a good way to look at it though,but I think my problem with going to that group would be that I would feel like I would be interrupting something more ‘serious’. I’m too much of a scaredy cat to properly enjoy the experience I think.

      That is a really true point actually- I never really thought about the advice the other writers would be able to give me. I didn’t mean to over generalised over 25s! They’re just not teenagers ….if that makes sense! I might try again, after I gather up some of my courage!
      Thank you for your advice! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Ashers! says:

        I’m right there with you on the scaredy-cat thing. It takes a lot of courage to start talking to a new group of people, especially when they already know each other. It’s kind of the worst.

        But if you do decide to give it another try, just remind yourself that the group’s there to help each other with their writing, and that’s what you’re going for–so there’s no way you could be interrupting them and whatever “serious” stuff they might be up to. Unless you speak (and write) mostly in fart jokes, I guess? They might consider that “not serious enough.”

        I bet there’re also online writing groups, that don’t meet up in person. If you think you’d be more comfortable with that, maybe that’s something you could check out?

        Best of luck, whatever you end up doing! πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. ichabod2014ic says:

    All of the points that you raised against your writing the story, in my opinion, play in your favor. George Lucas did not go into outer space to write Star Wars. Fiction is for the imagination. Write the story you want to write, not the story you are supposed to write.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ayunda says:

    Although I know you’re talking about writing adult fiction, as a reader I really enjoy reading adult fiction even though I’m not an adult myself! I think despite the fact that we cannot completely relate to the characters, some events and situations you can still relate to. Also you can still find lots of adult fiction to read with non adult characters: Room, The Goldfinch, White Teeth are some of my favourites ☺️ Maybe you can explore the genre by writing about non-adult characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you for your help!
      I never really thought of writing my story through a non adult POV. I read Room and didn’t care for the POV much hahaha but then again if I was going to do it this way the non-adult character would be much older. Hmm the cogs in my brain are working now…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    That sucks about your writing group, maybe you’ll find something else that will be a better fit for you. Also I don’t think you necessarily need to be an adult to write an adult ficition book. It all depends on the resreach you do. People write historical fiction without having been alive during or having visited those time periods, and people write fantasy novels and paranormal novels and everything. It all depends on the reseach you can do to make the story feel real and come alive (I really hope this makes sense).

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      I’m going to see if I can try and look for other writing groups in my area, but I think all of them are going to be the same.
      That’s a great point! Yeah, I’m going to be tons of research for this project anyone which is really exciting! I’m going to be harassing ever adult I know hahahaha!
      Thank you for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Maybe you’ll find a better fit in one of them, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you πŸ˜€
        If you’re excited for the research that is all the sign you really need that it’s gonna be a good story when you’ve finished writing it. Good research can make great stories!
        And that’s all right πŸ˜€

        Like

  5. RaeAnne says:

    Aww!! That sounds like something that would happen to me…but at least you got a hot chocolate! XD

    Oooh!!! Yay for lightbulb moments!! Well, I’m a teen (barely, but I am!) and read much more adult/general fiction than I do teen. It’s been that way for years. And I don’t know that your idea /must/ be that genre–it depends on how it’s written! Do that research, girl! But don’t let it overwhelm you either.
    I can’t wait to see where it takes you–I’m intrigued! XD

    *hugs* I hope you have an amazing week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Hahahaha that was like the only good thing that happened!

      I’m trying to balance out my YA and Adult/General fiction intake but I love YA so much hahaha!
      That is an excellent point actually. I guess I will the genre will become more clear once I’ve actually written it. I’m excited for research! It one of most interesting parts for me.

      *hugs* Thanks love πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your writing group. I have always been interested in joining a writing group, but I have always felt discouraged. I think that it is because I hate public speaking (though, when I actually attempt it, it is never as bad as it seems), especially around people that I don’t know.

    Maybe you need to find an online writing group? I would love to be part of something like that. It would be a lot less daunting, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      It’s okay! When it comes to being around strangers I become highly aware about everything that I’m doing which makes me really awkward to be around!

      Ooooh I never thought of an online group! That’s a good idea and it’s probably why I like NaNoWriMo so much- it’s kind of like an online writing group.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. transhaan says:

    Awnn mann for your writing group 😦 But maybe over 25 is gonna help you for that adult fiction you wanna write. ? πŸ˜€ Great initiative btw !! Keep it up AND YASS DO UR RESEARCH AND WRITE WRITE WRITE THAT BOOK (work from home-5th harmony music background LOL)

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      It’s okay, it least gives me a reason to stay in my PJs and stay in my bed to write πŸ˜€ They probably could, but I think I might be too scared to ask them anything hahaha. THANK YOU FOR THE MOTIVATION! HAHAHA that song is actually stuck in head, it’s so bloody catchy!

      Like

  8. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear about the experience with your writing group Astra 😦 If you decide to go back or attend another one I hope it’s a lot better β™₯

    I’m not a write, but I don’t think you need to be an adult to write adult fiction. Like others have mentioned people write historical and high fantasies without experiencing those situations. I think all that matters is that you’re passionate about the idea you have (which you seem to be!) and do the necessary research. I think it’d be really interesting to read an adult fiction written by a teenager. It could put a whole new spin on the genre.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      It’s okay about the writing group! Some things are just not to be I guess, I’m just glad I picked up some hot chocolate from there as it was DELICIOUS!

      Thank you for your kind words! It’s good to see people saying yes you can instead of no you can’t. I can’t wait to write it now- it will be like my first contemp I’ve thought of writing. Hopefully I don’t mess it up!

      Like

      • Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

        Haha, yes! It’s always good to look at the positives even if they are little (I say this when I’m the most negative person ever πŸ˜‚).

        If you ever get to the stage where you want to post excerpts from it I’d definitely be interested in reading it πŸ˜€ Good luck with it all, Astra! I’m sure you’ll own it!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

