Informal Review: Tokyo Ghoul- Volume 1 by Sui Ishida

480x480bb-85

Title: Tokyo Ghoul- Volume 1

Author: Sui Ishida

My rating: 5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.47/5

Genre: Horror, Paranormal

Summary (Wikipedia):

The story follows Ken Kaneki, a college student who barely survives a deadly encounter with Rize Kamishiro, his date who reveals herself as a ghoul, and is taken to the hospital in critical condition. After recovering, Kaneki discovers that somehow he underwent a surgery that transformed him into a half-ghoul by transferring some of Rize’s organs into his body, as she died when she attacked him, and just like normal ghouls, he must consume human flesh to survive as well. With no one else to turn to, he is taken in by the ghouls who manage the coffee shop, Anteiku.


 

Informal Review:

I’m doing an informal review for this manga because it would be a little difficult to talk about this manga in definite sections. I think it would be better for me to do it like this!

SO I finally caught up with the anime and now I can say I fully fledged fan of Tokyo Ghoul- it’s so good! It’s raw but I don’t think too gory, but still gory, if that makes sense. The manga is really brilliant in the way it convey’s Kaneki’s first moments of being a ghoul. I forgot how fast manga’s go and as soon as I finished it I wanted the next one! Why are they so expensive!

The artwork in the manga are really gorgeous and so graphic. There was no sugar coating on any of the bloody scenes and I loved how all of the action scenes were drawn clearly. Sometimes the action scenes in some manga’s can be unclear but I really liked the one in Tokyo Ghoul. Maybe it was because I watched the anime before I read the manga but I don’t think that’s the case.

tokyoghoul_gn01_142-143_press

I love the whole concept of the main protagonist questioning his own morals and what is right and what is right. He’s a ghoul, but his also human and that throws up a lot of questions. I really like how he’s loneliness is very clear as well and you really just want to reach into the pages and hug the poor little guy. I know this is only the start of what is going to be a tragic story, but I already want to save Kaneki! His thoughts are always so interesting to read as well as he uses metaphors, similes and quotes from his favourite book.

“If you were to write a story with me in the lead role, it would certainly be… a tragedy”

It was really a while a go since I watched the first couple of episodes of the anime and I swear I don’t remember the friendship between Kaneki and Hide being so strong and heart warming. It’s making me upset just thinking about it now…we also met Touka! Of course she is the angsty and cold hearted but of course this is only the first volume and there is so much still to learn from her!

I feel like this hasn’t been very concise…basically this story is so beautifully tragic and I loved this tantalizing this snippet of the story in manga form. If your even one tiny bit interested in Tokyo Ghoul, I beg you to watch the anime as it’s brilliant and probably get on the manga train like myself!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Informal Review: Tokyo Ghoul- Volume 1 by Sui Ishida

  1. fiddlerblue says:

    I LOVE THE ANIME SERIES! ❤ I've only seen season 1 and it was fantastic. The art was well-drawn and really brought the characters to life 😀 A bit gory, maybe, but wellllll they're ghouls XD I love how the MC fought his craving and desperately tried to cling to his humanity during the first few episodes. I can feel his struggle and also his helplessness. Loved the bromance too 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

