Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

 

Title: The Young Elites
Author: Marie Lu
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
My Rating: 
 4 stars
Goodreads rating: 3.96

 Summary (Goodreads): 

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.


Cover: 2/5

The cover isn’t the best compared to many others I have seen. I could of easily passed this book on the shelf but I recognised the name of the author and picked it up.

 


Review:

I really enjoyed reading this book, though the start was a bit slow and flat for me it really picked up towards the end part of the book. The plot twists in this book are superb and really kept me reading on until the end. I was a little upset with myself with finishing because it was so fast and sudden and I just wanted The Rose Society in my hands straight away.

Plot: The plot was totally unique to me and I liked how there weren’t any YAY moments if you know what I mean. There was always a sense of darkness surrounding the plot which was deliciously intriguing. The multiple POVs were not annoying because the chapters were quick and rather interesting. A shoutout to Teren! I wanted more chapters for him please! The fast paced plot, after the slow and flat start, was a dream to read because Marie Lu’s writing is a dream to read simply! Nothing felt jarring and no event seemed unnecessary.

Characters:

Adelina was such a cool character to read! By the end of the book I felt so strange towards her and then I realised it was because I am not used to reading from an anti-hero’s perspective! I didn’t know if I should of been routing for her or wishing death upon her! It was a pretyty new, but good thing to feel. Not the standard I like her or I dislike her. Though from time to time I found her annoying, Adelina a character you really do route for. All of dark stuff she has experienced has consumed her and interesting to see a character embrace that and not want to completely suppress it at the end of the novel. Also her power is awesome- nuff said.

Um can I talk about Teren…because I LOVED HIS CHARACTER! What a beautifully written person. So twisted and dark and sympathy attracting. His story was a very compelling read and even writing about it makes me want to know what the hell happens to him in The Rose Society. All of the characters in this book are dark- but Teren is so wicked.

I guess I have to talk about Enzo. I felt a weak connection to this character. Though towards the end of the book I started warming up to him, the connection to the character was still feeble. It’s probably because he never really developed from a cold, stony faced prince for me. That doesn’t mean that I wasn’t sad when that thing happens to him.

What I liked:

  • Plot
  • Majority of the characters
  • The fast pace (excluding the beginning)
  • *Casually puts Teren on the list.

What I disliked:

  • The beginning
  • The little we know about some of the side characters

Verdict: I feel like you have to be in the mood to read a book like this, but when you are in the mood for a dark, angsty book pick up this one- it was amazing!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

(P.S. I knew I should of pre-ordered The Rose Society! Now amazon doesn’t have it in stock!)

One thought on “Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

