My Ilvermorny School of Witchcraft and Wizardry Sorting!

Hello guys! I thought this would be a fun, short post about my Ilvermorny sorting. If you guys didn’t know, JKR released some new information on the Ilvermorny School of Witchcraft and Wizardry which is a wizarding school based in America. The information was so interesting and it left me wanting another couple of books just for Ilvermorny (that’s the power of JKR!). I guess I will just have to be content with the extra tidbits we are getting at the moment!

img_0004

Anyway as I said, this post is going to be my sorting in Ilvermorny. I’ll split it up into two parts pre-Sorting and post-Sorting. Let’s get right to this!


Pre-Sorting

I am very nervous, but excited at the same time. Here is a snippet of the information that we got from Queen Rowling just so you know the decision I’m facing.

It is sometimes said of the Ilvermorny houses that they represent the whole witch or wizard: the mind is represented by Horned Serpent; the body, Wampus; the heart, Pukwudgie and the soul, Thunderbird. Others say that Horned Serpent favours scholars, Wampus, warriors, Pukwudgie, healers and Thunderbird, adventurers.

13494815_1037780056309312_54695298374371810_n

Somehow I feel like I fit everyone of those houses (except for the Wampus actually!). In my head and heart, I’m leading towards The Horned Serpent but I might just land in Pukwudgie. Anyway enough fretting lets just get into this sorting!

Post-Sorting

The Ilveroney house I got sorted into is…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE WAMPUS!

So…yeah. This is hilarious! Out of all of the houses I get Wampus, the house I was not expecting at all! So I am actually writing this ten minutes after I actually did the sorting because I was SERIOUSLY contemplating doing the unforgivable thing and doing the sorting again. Nothing against anyone who is a Wampus but just the name put me a little off and by the fact it is the house that favours warriors. And if you had read the whole piece on Ilvermorny piece you would know that this isn’t something like the sorting hat; you don’t pick were you want to go.

So I was pretty hacked off and decided to do some digging and what I came out with actually made me change my opinion on me becoming a Wampus. Firstly I dug out this from geeksandsundry.com:

The Wampus Cat is a fearsome cougar in Native American myths. In Cherokee legend, she is a woman who disguises herself as a cougar in order to spy on the men of the tribe, which sounds a lot like an animagus. In East Tennessee, the Wampus Cat is considered a spirit of death and the earth, continuing the trend of creatures associated with the earth, air, fire, and water. Importantly, the Pottermore section on the History of Magic in North America lists Wampus Cat as a source of hair for magic wands, saying of the wandmaker Johannes Janker:

“His wands were highly sought after and instantly recognisable, as they were usually inlaid with mother-of-pearl. After experimenting with many cores, Jonker’s preferred magical material was hair of the Wampus cat.”

‘considered a spirit of death and earth’– if that doesn’t sound awesome, I don’t know what does. The fact that the hair of a Wampus is used for wands is pretty cool too!

But the part that was still throwing me was the ‘warrior’ part and that when I found a comment on the internet (reliable, I know) saying how ‘being a warrior is different in the wizarding world compared to the Muggle world’ and that is so correct! I think the moral of this little lesson that I have experienced is that you can always find the good in something, even if at first you can’t.

I am a Wampus and proud and Ravenclaw and proud! Interesting combination but I might start getting used to being called a Wampclaw.

What is your Ilvermorny house? Do you like it? What is your Hogwarts-Ilvermony combination? Share below!

-Astra

Instagram (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

 

28 thoughts on “My Ilvermorny School of Witchcraft and Wizardry Sorting!

  1. Lauren Busser says:

    Campus. That’s an interesting name! My sorting led me to Thunderbird. I am a Thunderbird Slytherin. Which is funny when you consider one of my favorite movies. Might be time for a post about that on my blog and the hilarious happenstance that it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    It’s kind of funny how the one house you didn’t think you’d fit is the one you were actually sorted into! But still it’s good you didn’t retake the test!
    I still need to find out my Ilvermorny house, and my Hogwarts house for that matter, maybe one day soon but I do wonder from time to time where I’d be sorted. My friend did take the Ilvermorny house test; she’s a Ravenclaw in Hogwarts and ended up being a Thunderbird in lvermorny.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      I know! After I got the result i was literally gobsmacked! But some people are saying that the Wampus is a mix of Gryffindor and Slytherin or Gryffindor or Ravenclaw which kind of puts me at ease.
      What?! Go go now and find out your Hogwarts house! The quiz is actually very fun to do weirdly enough. Your friend’s combination is very nice!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        There’s got to be some kind of overlap between the Hogwarts houses and the Ilvermorny ones, I guess a mixture of Slytherin, Gryffindor and Ravenclaw would work. Although I’m interested to see what the other’s are closest to now! 🙂
        I really really should! It’s on my to-do list and I love doing quizs so a winning combination! 😀

        Like

  3. Marta says:

    I’m a ravenclaw and a horned serpent! Guess it makes sense since my ilvermorny house represents the mind and favors scholars 😊 (I got curious and searched online for the hogwarts-ilvermorny matches, and apparently, Wampus corresponds to gryffindor 😜)

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      I’m glad you like your combination- it was the exact combination I was aiming for and I flopped hahaha. There is an image floating around saying that the houses actually overlap and the Gryffindor and Slytherin overlap to make Wampus which makes sense as sometimes I think I’m more Slytherin then Ravenclaw and sometimes more Gryffindor over Ravenclaw. Here’s the image if you want to look-https://www.facebook.com/spielerman/photos/a.10150263481938030.332023.6552903029/10153734244813030/?type=3&theater

      Liked by 1 person

      • Marta says:

        Thanks 🙂 That’s a great theory, actually! Where I read the article, they said that they had doubts matching some houses …
        It makes sense! So, apparently, I’m a mix between Ravenclaw and Slytherin 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Emily | RoseRead says:

    Hahaha I love this post. I posted my reaction to being sorted into Pukwudgie on my blog, and it was a huge identity crisis for me. Most people I’ve talked to about the sorting were really surprised at their result. I definitely was. I am a Ravenclaw at Hogwarts, though I think the systems are very different so they shouldn’t really be equated. There’s so many interesting fan theories circulating around now, some of which make sense to my personality, and some not, lol. I just hope we find out more about the houses (like characters who were in them and such) in the FB movies, so that we can understand it all better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you!
      I will have to check out your post then!
      Yeah it’s true that we shouldn’t really equate the Hogwarts houses to the Ilvermorny houses but that’s harder said than done when you can kind of see which house is losely based on which. From what I’m seeing, a lot of Ravenclaws were expecting to be in the Horned Serpent house because of the fact it favours scholars but it seems like not many were even sorted into there. I really hope the FB movies adds a lot more info to these houses!

      Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Sorry to hear that’s how you felt. I guess we both need to do more research about our respective houses which is kind of difficult as JKR hasn’t released much about them. I wouldn’t mind being a Pukwudgie myself, the house that represents the heart and all that jazz. It seems like the Hufflepuff of Ilvermorny.

      Liked by 1 person

      • cat says:

        Totally agree! It’s kind of yummy they released the quiz without putting out more info but I’m hoping it’ll be released soon :]

        Like

  5. MorganPaige says:

    I’m a Horned Serpent and Gryffindor here 🙂 There are so many combinations in all these comments, I love it! It really goes to show just how different the American houses are since they represent the body and spirit of the human, not the personality/choices of Hogwarts. I really love that JK did it this way! And I’m honestly jealous- I thought the Wampus is a really cool creature!

    Like

  6. Kat Impossible says:

    I am super late to the party, but I am a Ravenclaw who got sorted into Thunderbird. I hear that’s quite the common combination, even though Thunderbirds sound so adventurous and that didn’t feel like me, until a friend pointed out that we seek the adventure in books, which seemed really fitting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

