When Hype Kills A Book- Books That Hype Are KILLING

Hello guys! I told you that my presence on the old blogsphere will be a bit infrequent. I am dedicating the whole of today though to commenting and just being ACTIVE around all the blogs I follow.

But right now, I have a discussion post to share!

So we all know that hype is like poisoned honey. It’s fantastic and exciting and fun but also very very VERY deadly. Over the course of my young blogging life I have seen books rise with hype and die from the hype. I myself have read books that have been super hyped that I’ve seriously enjoyed, Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman being one of the books that bounce into my mind. But I’ve also been disappointed with many super hyped books as well like The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness being one of them.

Though today isn’t the day when I dissect ‘Hype’ and write the pros and cons. No, today is the day when I reveal my books I will not read soon because of hype list. I’m pretty sure everybody has that mental list of books that you are just avoiding because THAT HYPE BE TOO MUCH. And I can totally relate, though I’m going to share some of the books that I feel hype is killing at the moment.


Books that hype is killing:

truthwitch-uk-cover

Yep we are starting with a super hyped one first! Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is apparently about too girls who have magical abilities. And also this book is full of FEMALE FRIENDSHIPS SO EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ IT NOW OMG! Ummm no? Hahaha you see this is a book that hype has essentially killed, but because of the meh reviews that are still pouring in I would say that it is still killing it. At the start the big FEMALE FRIENDSHIPS element got me interested as well as it being a fantasy book. But now, I don’t really care about it. I might read it…in a year. You can’t argue with those meh reviews I’m telling you!

passengercover

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken along with Truthwitch was hyped to high HELL! On Twitter all I saw was constant ‘Happy Book Birthday Passenger!’ and other variations like that. I’m not critising the book because I haven’t read it, but again, you can’t argue with the meh reviews! Almost every Passenger review I have seen on my blog feed has been meh. Also, I’ve recently heard that the romance in this book is a bit insta-lovely and that has not helped this book in my opinion.

272725061

I was SO excited for this book! Like really excited. I had read another Mead book before and surprisingly liked her writing a lot so seeing this beautiful cover and the summary made me want it. And then Soundless happened. The mostly negative reviews for that book dented my excitement for TGC only slightly, but I was still excited. And then the Hype Train arrived and everyone was just generally hyping this book up. But the reviews are coming back and they are mostly filled with disappointment. I’m sure I want to read this, but at the moment, especially with all that hype that happened, I am leaving it till later.

16221851

I kind of know what this book is about…I think. All I know is that this book was apparently top on many people’s 2016 TBR and it did not survive expectations. I’ve heard about flat characters, meh writing and tried and tested plots. I truly think that Hype put the proverbial knife in it’s little book heart. A shame.

SO those were four books that I randomly picked out from my head of books that I haven’t read, but I’m not planning to soon because of that hype knife that everybody is swinging about willy nilly. Of course those were all MY OPINIONS and if you didn’t agree that’s completely fine!

Here are some books that I am hoping will survive the hype.

Books that I hope will survive hype:

Notice anything? All four of those books are sequel and more importantly the ending book in a duology or trilogy. I have high hopes for all of these books and I’m pretty sure that all of them will get truckloads of hype. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh seemed to have survived it (thankfully!) I can just pray that the good fortune spreads to these and other books that I’m looking forward to.


What books do you think hype has killed? What books do you think will survive the hype? Leave your comments below and let’s chat!

13 thoughts on “When Hype Kills A Book- Books That Hype Are KILLING

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    Omigosh, yes, I SO have a list of books I’m avoiding because of hype. They peer up at me expectantly each time I look at my TBR list, but they have yet to be read because I’m afraid they won’t live up to the hype. One is The Wrath and the Dawn (which folks have almost convinced me DOES live up to the hype), and Ember in the Ashes. Truthwitch and Passenger aren’t even on my list because, even though they were commercially hyped, I’ve read too many mixed reviews about them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hilary @ SongsWroteMyStory says:

    I think the thing that annoys me most about hyped books is how many books it ruins. Or not necessarily ruins, but the books just don’t live up to the hype. I just finished I’ll Give You The Sun, and I think I would have enjoyed you so much more if it wasn’t so hyped and my expectations weren’t so high.

    I still read hyped books sometimes, if I think they look interesting, but I find the best ones are the books that slip in more under the radar.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I completely agree with you, sometimes the hype is just WAY too strong, and you know the book can’t live up to it. It’s so sad though, I mean, this soometimes can destroy pretty incredible books to just feeling “meh”.
    I feel the same way about Passenger, and I think if I ever read this book, it will be, well, not right now, ahah ::)

    Like

  4. hollie (hollieblog) says:

    I’ve just come to accept that people love Richelle Mead and that I’ll never get it :/ I read the first VA and it was fine, not amazing. And then I read Soundless and it was fairly boring. So when I see her books hyped up now I’m just like “Yeah sure ok.” and just don’t get duped into it at all haha!

    Like

  5. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    A lot of the time I tend to not read really hyped books straight away, I haven’t started Truthwitch yet, though it’s on my to-read list, because of that reason. I was actually one of the people that really loved Passenger but I’ve seen a lot of “meh” reviews for it recently.
    I do this TRATD survived the hype (I finished it a couple of days ago) and oh I really REALLY hope Crooked Kingdom does as well, thats one of my most anticipated releases for this year.

    Like

  6. thesassygeek says:

    I 100% agree with Truthwitch, the hype definitely killed that one. IT wasn’t an awful book but with the way everyone raved about it I was expecting it to blow me away. It was a “meh” book. I’m worried about Passenger since I bought it but hopefully isn’t too horrible. Also “The Rose and The Dagger” is NOT killed by the hype so no worries! Great post! 🙂

    Like

  7. Zezee says:

    You know, I just read The Martian and I’m glad I read it after the hype has blown over because if I had read it while the world was raving about it, I would have been disappointed. It was fun and I enjoyed it but I think I enjoyed it more because I didn’t have the pressure of the hype on it. I think Throne of Glass was overhyped and I agree with you about The Rest of Us Just Live Here.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I have such a weird relationship with hyped books. I can’t resist them because my curiosity is too strong, but they also terrify me because I’m worried I won’t like them or that the hype will ruin the experience. I recently finished A Court of Thorns and Roses and was not really a fan and I’m currently reading The Star-Touched Queen, but that’s not really living up to the hype for me either. All the books you mentioned are on my TBR and I’m really interested to see how I’ll feel about them.

    Like

  9. Ayunda says:

    Totally agree about a lot of the books you mentioned there. Basically a lot of the young adult books are now sort of a turn off for me because they are just too overhyped 😪

    Like

Leave a Reply

