May 2016 TBR!

Hello guys! I hope everyone is doing fabulously well and you are enjoying your Sunday and your getting some reading done because it is now May and May is going to be EPIC! I CAN JUST FEEL IT!

During April my reading drive has been like this:

High Reading Drive – Stress for exams = Medium to Low Reading Drive

But now May is:

High Reading Dive + No heavy exams till June/July= I WANT TO READ EVERYWHERE AND ANYWHERE!

So without further ado, here are the books I’m hoping to read this May!


1) The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I am not leaving this series high and dry for a month or two, I’m entering back into the midst of all the eerie, magical adventure. I can’t wait to read about The Raven Boys and Blue and find out what happens to different relationships and to see how the characters grow. I just want to know what happens!

2) To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I am in the total contemporary mood. I can just feel it and if I don’t take advantage it might disappear. It’s probably because of the sunnier weather. Anyway, I’ve had this book on my shelf for almost half a year, if not half a year and I want to pick up a fluffy contemporary this month so I’ll finally read this one.

3) Night Owls by Jenn Bennett

Night Owls seems like a quick contemporary that I can read and I don’t really want it to be on my shelves for too long, so I might as well read it in May. I find the notion of a ‘Night Bus’ really cool as well

4) Blue Lily, Lily Blue By Maggie Stiefvater

I’m going to give myself sometime before I read Blue Lily, Lily Blue after The Dream Thieves, because I have a strong feeling that I’m going to be kicking myself if I race through this series too quickly.

5) The Next Together by Lauren James

My copy for The Next Together is actually signed, which is fantastic! But anyway, I feel like I might be into some romance this month and I flipped through some pages and it isn’t just normal prose on every page which I love!

6) How To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I might just be in the mood to read this one, but I kind of have to read it for my classics challenge this month. I do hope I really like this book as it’s a favourite for many.

7) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Yep, this one is one here. I got like fifty pages through it. It wasn’t awful, I just don’t think I was in the mood for it. Or prepared to get last in the world. I’m definitely DEFINITELY reading and completing it this month though.

8) The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

This beauty can yesterday, so I thought I would just plot it in my May TBR as the reviews are coming in for it and they are great! I can’t wait to jump into this book, I just hope I remember all the character names and what went down in The Wrath and the Dawn.

9) Wuthering Heights by Emile BronteΒ 

I might not actually read Wuthering Heights, but this space is really for any classic because I need to catch up on the classic I didn’t read in April. Any classics suggestions would be great if you had any as I’m not feeling gothic romancey.


So these are the books I’m planning to read, but knowing me, I’ll probably read five of them, then abandon my TBR. I’m in a great reading mood so I’m looking forward to this! Tell me down below what books your looking forward to reading down below and any classic recommendations if you have any!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

InstagramΒ (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

 

 

25 thoughts on “May 2016 TBR!

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      I’m happy that I’m in the contemporary mood as well as I’ve been in the fantasy mood for so long! Roll on the recommendation! I’m sure I’ll be buying some throughout the month!😊
      I can’t wait to be starting Too All The Boys I’ve Loved Before as I’ve heard it’s fluffy and I love fluffy books😝

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Word Wonders says:

    A weird thing happens to me when I’m preparing for my exams: I WANT TO READ ALL THE BOOKS ! As they say I want what I can’t hahaha since I don’t have enough time to read as much as I want to!
    And wew, you have exams in July too? Good luck with those ❀
    I've been in contemporary mood too in April and this month too so aside from the Fantasy series I already started before, that's all I'm reading haha!
    I hope May will be a great reading month for you !

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      OMG that’s so weird and unfairπŸ˜‚
      Yep I have most of my exams in July so I hope they go smoothly? Good luck to you too!
      I’m trying to keep my TBRs mixed to get down my general TBR but I definitely leaning towards contemporary nowadays!
      Thanks you tooπŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    Such a great TBR! I am super curious about your thoughts on The Next Together, because I am not that much of a fan of the series and I feel very alone in that hahaha but I hope you’ll love it. It’s so cool that you have a signed copy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yvo says:

    I’m planning on reading The Dream Thieves this month as well! And I am personally not a big fan of TMI series and actually abandoned it after the second book. I liked Cassandra Clare’s other trilogy TID a lot better though. To Kill A Mockingbird is one of my favorite classics and I have been wondering if I should read The Rose And The Dagger… I didn’t love the first book as much as most people, but the ending kind of left me wondering what happens next.

    Looks like you will read some great books this month; I hope you enjoy them! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you! Still loads to go but I’m feeling a lot less stressed which is something to celebrate!
      I’m trying to branch out of YA and I have to catch up on some classics this year hence the mixed line-up which I’m happy you like.
      Aw you too! MAY WILL BE OUR MONTH😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    This is a great to-read list for May! I really hope you enjoy Blue Lily, Lily Blue, so far it’smy favourite book of the series (I’m only about one quarter of the way into The Raven King). I can’t wait to get my hands on TRATD so I can get started on that one, I have such high hopes for it after the way TWATD ended! Also I really need to re-read City of Bones soon, I have Lady Midnight on my shelves but need to re-read the earlier series before I can start it.

    Like

  5. fromlibrarywithlove says:

    I loved Night Owls (but I’m in the US so it’s called The Anatomical Shape of a Heart), but it’s a good happy contemporary and a really cute love story. I am also really looking forward to The Rose & the Dagger!!! Ek! TWATD was one of my favorite reads last year and I’m so excited to see where the story goes next!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Fantastic TBR, Astra πŸ˜€ So good seeing all those The Raven Cycle books on there! I’m also really interested in The Next Together, can’t wait to see what you think of that one πŸ™‚ I struggled with City of Bones so I’m interested to hear your thoughts on that one too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thanks!
      Of course I put them on there, I have to finish this series as fast as I can because it’s so good!
      The Next Together is an interesting one. It’s got a generally good reviews, so hopefully I’ll like it.
      I know many people have had problems with City of Bones so my expectations are low so I don’t get too disappointed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

