April Wrap Up!

Hey everyone! I hope everyone is enjoying the weekend and I hope everyone with the extra Monday off IS PARTYING LIKE A MANIAC!

SOO April….it wasn’t too bad hahaha! I read 9 books- one being a graphic novel and another two being novels and the rest being full length novels. It felt like this month was soooo loooong and I certainly could of read more but I got into a reading slump after the first book I read so that damaged my progress. But let’s just get to the wrap up!



So as I said, I read a total of nine books and it feels like they were all good, but overall believe that March, February and January felt like better reading months for me, which is really weird, because I didn’t hate any of the books I read this month.

Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne– 4.25/5 (My Review)

This book was a really great read. It dealt with mental illness in a delicate, but at the same time realistic and honest way which made me finish this book in a flash. I had very few problems with this book.

Prodigy by Marie Lu– 4.5/5 (My Review)

Prodigy did a fantastic job for solidifying the Legend trilogy for me. Though Legend was a good read, I wanted more and Prodigy gave more. There was non stop action, drama and tension and I can’t wait to finish the series now.

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman– 5/5 (My Review)

This. Book. Was. Excellent! I just loved it so much! It was such a refreshing contemporary because it just felt real and the characters were raw and angsty and just normal teenagers!  A big recommendation for anyone and everyone!

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson– 4.75/5 (My Review)

Terrific read, The Art of Being Normal is. I simply just enjoyed reading it so mch and venturing into the characters minds. Both the main protagonists were likeable and a great dynamic duo together. Another book I recommend!

The Wicked and The Divine, Volume 1– 4/5 (My Review)

The artwork in this graphic novel is WICKED (see what I did there?). But seriously, it’s gorgeous. So bold and eye catching. The plot was very intriguing, though it always had an under current of confusion. Definitely picking up the next volume after that cliffhanger!

How Hard Can Love Be? By Holly Bourne– 3.75/5 (My Review)

A tricky book this one is. On one hand I really enjoyed it and in the other- WHY ALL THE FEMINISM?! More on it in my review when I do finish up with it, but at times it felt like feminism was there for feminism sake. I don’t think I’ll be picking up the last book in the series as I already know I’ll be rolling my eyes through it!

The Moth and the Flame & The Crown and the Arrow by Renée Ahdieh– 4/5 (My Review)

I’ll do a quick review for these to novellas soon, but my basic feelings  was that they just give you small tastes of Ahdieh’s beautiful and rich writing. They don’t really add a lot to the story, but they were still pretty awesome!

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater-4.5 (My Review)

OMG THIS BOOK WAS GREAT! It totally through me with the not so fantasy setting at the start, but boy was I wrong because though it is set in the real world, the atmosphere is just so magical, you get engrossed in it. And the character- THE CHARACTERS WERE SO GOOD! Can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

Top Ten Tuesday:

Book Bloggers/Booktubers/Bookstagrammers That You Need To Check Out Now!

Books That I Should Read Because I Love Magical Realism

Bookworm Delights and Disasters!

Discussion Posts:

Fiction vs Non-Fiction

How Do You ‘Read’?

Why I Do Not Get ARC Envy

Reading = Freedom and Freedom = No Boundaries

I’m Wittier In Writing:

Chapter 4: Outlining + Pinterest= Drake Dancing GIF

Chapter 5: Adult Fiction…But I’m A Teen!

Fem(+me) Friday:

Fem(+me) Friday- Celaena Sardothien

Tags:

The Harry Potter Tag!

Bookish Scenarios Tag!

Other:

Top 5 Wednesday- Rainy Day Reads

Book Inspired Outfits!


Ratings wise, favourite book for the month has to be Radio Silence by Alice Oseman. I know you are probably tired of reading about how much I loved Radio Silence, BUT I LOVED RADIO SILENCE! Please pick it up if you get the chance because you won’t regret it!

I’m still going strong on my Instagram! If you have a bookstagram account add me @astrangersguidetonovels and I’ll follow you back! It’s funny how Instagram have became apart of my everyday life somehow. I can’t go a day without thinking about it!

Anyway, here are some of my favourite bookish pics from my account this month!



So you guys…I think I did well in my French speaking exam! Thank you for all of your awesome comments on it in my March Wrap Up! I revised to death for it and stressed out like I would be shot if I did do bad. I even sacrificed two blogging days and it paid off! There’s still a couple of more exams to go but I feel a lot more comfortable and confident about the next one. Though now I have 300+ words of French stuck in my head now…

And sorry for being the most awful blogger this month! It just feels like everything has been happening at the same time and I barely had any time to look at your awesome posts! I’m going to to try and get to as many as I can through the bank holiday weekend and I might actually start acting like a good blogger!

giphy1


That is all for my April Wrap Up! If you made your way through this long post give yourself some chocolate, my treat! ;D Tell me down below what books you read this month and which one has been your favourite! 

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads


26 thoughts on “April Wrap Up!

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    French words stuck in your head ? Welcome to my life. Well I’m French, so that’s not unusual? I think in English in my head most of the time, though… ANYWAY ahah I’m happy you did okay on your exam, and if you need any help, well I’m here 😀
    Seems like you had a pretty good reading month though! I’m impatient to read Radio Silence and The Raven Boys (finally!), both sounds AMAZING 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Word Wonders says:

    This was a pretty great reading month for you quality and quantity wise, so yay for that !
    And congrats on your french exam, I always loved my french classes 🙈
    I can’t wait to get to the Raven Boy, it is just so intriguing! Oh and was How hard can love be the book you talked about the other day on twitter ?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Ohh congrats on your French exam, I hope the rest go well for you as well! 😀
    I am so so happy you loved The Raven Boys, it’s one of my favourite series and I cannot wait to get my hands on the last book. I’m still waiting on it being dispatched. Also I really need to read TWATD novellas, I’m gonna try and get around to them when I have TRATD so I can jump straight from novella to novella to novella to fuill length book 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you!
      I feel like I should just buy The Raven King before all of the copies go (I heard that they need to reprint my of TRK because of such high demand!)
      That’s a great idea! I mainly just read them so that I could get excited for TRATD (and remember some character names hahaha)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Oh really, I hadn’t actually heard that. I think mine was just taking ages to dispatch from Amazon because, well I don’t even know but I think they would have emailed me about any reprints needing to be done for my order!
        Well that probably helped as well! I just figured I could read everything at once and it would really help me get into TRATD when I got around to that one at the end!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yvo says:

    I have been wanting to read Am I Normal Yet? and I enjoyed The Raven Boys as well. I’m also curious now about the Legend sequel… I wasn’t fully convinced with the first book when I read it last year and kind of left the sequels collecting dust on my shelves; maybe I should give the second book a go some time soon. Looks like you had a great reading month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

