Informal Review: The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, Clayton Cowles

thewickedanddivine_vol1-1

Title: The Wicked + The Divine

Creators: Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie (Illustrations), Matt Wilson (Colorist),Clayton Cowles

My rating: 4/5

Goodreads rating: 3.92/5

Genre: Fantasy, Mythology

Summary (Goodreads):

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.


Informal Review:

This is a very interesting but divisive graphic novel. You either understand everything and love it or is more confused with every page and dislike it. I’m a bit of both. I loved it, but for more then half of the graphic novel my eyebrows were furrowed in confusion. After reading the awesome and interesting summary, and Ashleigh over at A Frolic Through Fiction notifying me on a recent price drop on Amazon, I just knew I had to get it and I did! And I will tell you now I didn’t regret buying it at all.

Let’s first talk about the gorgeous- and I mean GORGEOUS- artwork in The Wicked + The Divine. Some of the pages are just beautiful you want to look at them for ages. Just like the gods themselves, the artwork is bold and vibrant. You really can’t go wrong with them and at the start it was the images that kept me engaged and addicted because they told the story themselves sometimes.

The plot was very not simple hahaha. It’s like the plot should be simple, but it really isn’t with the constant name dropping which got me really confused. And then even the main protagonist’s (Laura I think???) involvement in the whole God debacle. But confusion didn’t make the plot any less interesting. I kind of got hooked on it and I wanted more and more which is bad because it’s a graphical novel and graphic novels go quick!  I liked how Gods were seen as like popstars and it kind of got me thinking about how sometimes people look up to celebrities as idols and Gods in some cases.

The writing and characters were a bit more blunt then I realised they were going to be, but that is fine. I liked it. It added a bit my edge and realism and my cold heartedness into the graphic novel. Though her involvement was confusing, Laura was a great person to follow as an outsider dragged into this fantastical world. As a former fan, her eyes are opened to this hidden group of Gods, much like the reader. Luci (also know as Lucifer) was a very interesting character as well and morally grey (well more dark grey). I feel like we didn’t get to know the other Gods a lot but hopefully we get to  know about them more in the next volumes.

The ending at the end was so annoying in a good way! I seriously want to know what happens next because that ending through me off!

The stranger in the mirror looks back. I wish I was her.

She looks like a god.

Overall, I really enjoyed this graphic novel. A lot. Though the plot got confusing and hard to follow at times, it was tantalizingly so, not frustratingly so. I want to know more, I want to read more and learn about the Gods and the precarious situation more. A great read!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

 

11 thoughts on “Informal Review: The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, Clayton Cowles

Leave a Reply

