Review: Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

25322449

Title: Radio Silence

Author: Alice Oseman

My rating: 5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.57/5

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult

Publisher:  Harper Collins Children’s Books

Summary (Goodreads):

What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong?

Frances has always been a study machine with one goal, elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside.

But when Frances meets Aled, the shy genius behind her favourite podcast, she discovers a new freedom. He unlocks the door to Real Frances and for the first time she experiences true friendship, unafraid to be herself. Then the podcast goes viral and the fragile trust between them is broken.

Caught between who she was and who she longs to be, Frances’ dreams come crashing down. Suffocating with guilt, she knows that she has to confront her past…
She has to confess why Carys disappeared…

Meanwhile at uni, Aled is alone, fighting even darker secrets.

It’s only by facing up to your fears that you can overcome them. And it’s only by being your true self that you can find happiness.

Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.


Review:

img_9233

This book was simply too good. Like REALLY REALLY GOOD. This review is so hard to write because it’s just so good and I just want to shout GO BUY THIS BOOK, but I know I should be more eloquent then that. So many great elements were weaved into this book it’s hard to pinpoint the one thing that made this book amazing.

Plot:

Frances hasn’t got many hobbies. She studies, studies and does some more studying because everything else is just time wasting and pointless right? Well except for her favourite podcast show Universe City and the soft spoken Aled who somehow finds the real Frances. But friendship can be broken by one wrong move and darker thoughts hide within Aled. Frances needs to find Aled within the shadows while rediscovering herself and what she truly wants.

This book I feel is a lot more character driven then plot driven, but that doesn’t mean that the plot wasn’t fabulous. I loved how the story progressed slowly and you quickly got familiar with all of the characters. Just because this is a contemporary doesn’t mean that this book didn’t have a few curve balls thrown into the mix, The plot kept me guessing and questioning which made the plot addictive and ultimately made the book hard to put down. There was no melodrama. Let that sink in, NO MELODRAMA. The pacing was just right for this book and the ending was really impactful, it left me wanting to read more about Frances and Aled and their lives.

Writing:

Alice Oseman’s writing is pure brilliance! There were no jarring parts or moments where I was confused or thought ‘WTF’. How Oseman wrote Frances’ POV was simple, straight to the point and not annoying at all (which is really important because though I’m a teenager and know teenagers, including myself, are annoying I don’t like reading about them being so!). She wrote all of the characters extremely well and built them from the bottom making them feel more realistic. There was tense, humorous and lovable moments to just sink in to.

‘ I wonder sometimes whether you’ve exploded already, like a star, and what I’m seeing you is three million years into the past, and you’re not here anyore. How can we be together here, now, when you are so far away. When you are so far ago? I’m shouting so loudly, but you never turn around to see me. Perhaps it is I who have already exploded. Either way, we are going to bring beautiful things into the universe. ‘

Characters:

Frances is one of those protagonists that you can’t help but love. Seriously, I wish I could hug her half of the time while reading the book. You just root for her so much and while reading you can just see her bloom into this beautiful flower. I could relate to her so much. Though I am not the study machine she is, I do try to study and put so much value and pressure on myself to succeed. Yes, we all know education is important, but on your death bed nobody is going to ask you what grades you got years ago. I felt so happy for Frances at the end and her realisation was somewhat inspiring.

Aled was another great character with so much depth. When we first meet his character he is kind of like a blank white page and then we see him burst into colour but also see those colours darken. We root for him, as much as we root for Frances. Speaking about Frances, their friendship is literally one of the best things in Radio Silence. It is so good and developed and just goals really. At the end of Radio Silence, I was wishing for more of them! The main side characters as well so so lovely to read about and it rounded the novel up well.

What I Liked:

  • The Frances and Aled friendship #Goals
  • The writing was simple, which made it fantastic!
  • The development from the characters to the plot was genius!

What I Disliked/ Could Be Improved:

  • It wasn’t longer. I WANT MORE!

Verdict: Read this book! Radio Silence has became on of my favourite books of 2016 so far, which says a lot about how much I loved this book. It was so enjoyable to read and relatable in many aspects. The friendship is what I vauled the most in this book because it was so real and pure and not tarnished by any melodrama. I’ll be definietly picking up Alice Oseman’s debut novel now!

-Astra

Instagram (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review: Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I’m really glad you like this book! I read Solitaire by Alice Oseman and didn’t like it as much as everyone else, so I’ve been in a debate about whether to try this one of not. Your review is definitely encouraging me to though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Oh wow, you’ve given such high praise for this book, and the fact that it’s one of your favourite books of 2016 as well is impressive 😀
    I haven’t heard of this book, or read anything by the author before, but your review has definitely convinced me to add it to my TBR list. I only hope I enjoy it as much as you did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

