Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

 prodigy_marie_lu_bookTitle: Prodigy

Author: Marie Lu

My rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.30/5

Genre: Dystopia, Young Adult

Publisher:  Putnam Juvenile

Summary (Goodreads):

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?


Review:

*Spoilers ahead for the first book, Legend. Here is my review of Legend if you want to read it first.

img_9215

So what did I think about Prodigy? I absolutely love it! The sequel was such a step up from Legend from the world building to the characters. Everything was fleshed out more and everything was was just better. From the starting pages of the sequel you are gripped and thrown back into that dystopian world. I only had one fault which isn’t the biggest one, but certainly shouldn’t be dismissed as well.

Plot:

After narrowly escaping death by the hands of the Republic, Day, grief-stricken and conflicted with his feelings towards June decides to lead the both of them to the Patriots. June is cautious of their new found allies but Day is ready to take on any task given to him, if it means getting his brother back. Both Day and June are tested as their relationship is put to the test- along with their loyalties.

The plot for this novel is fast, action packed and suspenseful. You can feel the tension and the amount of which the characters lives are at stake. This fast paced made it super fast to read (when I finally did sit down and read it) which is a thing that all bookworms love. And as the story progressed the plot thickened with all the extra information that we were getting and it just made everything more delicious to read. The two POVS of Day and June really added to the drama and you got to see two sides of the same coin in the same way you did in Legend.

Writing:

Marie Lu’s writing is quite average but I enjoyed the fact that she added more into her dystopian world and fleshed out the characters a lot more effectively. They had more depth and more grey moments which made them more realistic. Lu can write some fantastic action scenes and the came in the story they were clear to read and enjoyable. The suspense was killing me!

‘ Day, the boy from the streets with nothing except the clothes on his back and the earnestness in his eyes, owns my heart. He is beauty, inside and out. He is the silver lining in a world of darkness. He is my light. ‘

Characters:

Day was as abrupt and wild as he was in Legend but with the burden of grief sill heavy on his soldiers his actions over the course of the novel become much more emotion driven. This creates more inner tormile for this character which was appreciated by me. Day still stays as loveable as before though.

June became a lot more likeable I think in this book I think. I admired her quick, logical mind and her dedication to focus on the road ahead. She became a lot more rounded overall.

But here to the main problem I had with the novel. The realism of the actions of the characters because of age. Day and June are fifteen- I’m cool with that and I get that in dystopian type worlds Holstein grow up fast. But I still can’t image a fifteen year old declaring his love or being so intensely attached to one person. And then there was the case of Anden and June’s relationship. I mean, she is FIFTEEN and he must be in his early to mid twenties and he is trying to hook up with June basically. She is a child and he is an adult. No way that should be happening I don’t care how grown-up June acts.

What I liked:

  • Characters became much more developed
  • Works building was much better
  • The plot was action packed and suspenseful!

What I disliked/could be improved:

  • The writing was still average
  • The unrealistic actions from characters because of age

Though the whole Anden/June relationship was borderline creepy sometimes, overall, Prodigy was fast, fearless and much more enjoyable than its predecessor. IT WAS GREAT!

-Astra
Instagram (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

10 thoughts on “Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

  1. Hey Ashers! says:

    It’s good to hear that the character development and worldbuilding improved after Legend, but oh man, the Anden/June thing sounds really discomforting. I’m looking forward to (finally) getting around to reading Prodigy, despite that. Great review! =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Oh man I need to re-start this series. I read and loved Legend, then started Prodigy, entered a reading slump and quit halfway through so I really want to pick this book up again and actually finish it, and finish the series.
    It sounds like you liked this book better than Legend so now I hae high hopes for it. I don’t remember much of what I read of Prodigy but I can already tell I am not a fan of June/Arden.
    Great review!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

