How Do You ‘Read’?

Hello everyone! The title is a little bit mysterious right? Or it’s just point blank obvious and I fail at my attempt to be mysterious.

This discussion post is going to be about how you ‘read’ books or really the form of a book that you are ‘reading’. So we are going to be talking about paperbacks, e-readers/e-books and audiobooks. I’m not aware of any of form of books so if there is drop it in the comments, but for now lets discuss!

This isn’t really going to be a PAPERBACKS ARE BETTER THAN E-BOOKS or AUDIOBOOKS ARE BETTER THAN PAPERBACKS discussion. I’m just going to be talking about the pros and cons of all three of them and some of my experiences with them


 

So let’s talk about the lovable paperback first!

uaez31yz34lqtduhozhq

This form of reading is universal around the world. Everyone (well smart people) know not to disturb you when you have your nose in a book and you look very intellectual if you are in a public place reading a paperback (not that it matters). I think the real argument to why people still buy paperbacks is because of the feel of the book, the smell of books and just being able to see and feel the pages between your fingers when you turn the pages. These may seem like arbitrary reasons, but all of those things really resonate with us readers. Not to mention if no one read paperbacks we wouldn’t see the beautiful rainbow shelves we see on Bookstagram!

But of course there are some drawbacks to the humble paperback. Firstly they can be easily damaged, secondly they can be really expensive- especially if you go for hardbacks and they are heavy to handle if you take books everywhere with you. All of these problems would be solved if we switched to e-readers and audiobooks, but nothing can beat the smell of a new books and pretty shelves right?

Now onto e-readers/e-books!

untitled-1

Nobody can disagree that some e-reader look so cool! They are sleek, cute and compact and the e-readers have many pros- even more then our lovable paperback. Firstly you can get hundreds of books on them, but that doesn’t mean extra shelves on the wall as they are all stored in the reader (and that means no lost books as well). Also some of the e-readers are becoming waterproof, which means no danger from water and no one can deny that e-books are waaaay cheaper then physical books, though the initial cost of the reader might outweigh that fact.

But there are some cons. As I said the cost of a good e-reader can be expensive in some cases and if you are not looking at e-readers, but in e-books then many people (including myself) complain about reading e-books on phones or tablets because of our poor eyes. Also it won’t be very easy if you want to give your friend a book to borrow as all of your books are on a e-reader soooooo you’ll be giving them your whole library….

And lastly, the audi0book!

bigstock_audio_book_14340599-e1330386218724

Audiobooks are new and shiny compared to the paperback and e-reader. The popularity for audiobooks has been soaring for the last couple of years and for good reason. With audiobooks, if you have good concentration, you can really do anything while getting through your ‘book’ which means having more time to do things other then reading. Like e-readers, your phone (in most cases) is your library which means easy access and no missing ‘books’ and no heavy book lifting. You can get through books quickly andΒ  big books don’t seem so long. There are also many audiobook services but one of the most popular services is Audible, which is a pay monthly service where you can get one audiobook free every month.

But of course there are cons. Audiobooks can be very expensive, almost double or even triple the amount of the book you can get if you buy it in physical form. Also the borrowing problem again and if you can’t listen to something while doing another activity (like myself) listening to an audiobook might be hard, so your not reeking the benefits of all that extra time. Moreover, I personally can never find the right speed, so the narrator is either too slow or too fast.


So how do you read? I personally will have to stick with my lovable paperback, but I know a lot of you guys dabble in the other forms as well. Remember to leave a comment down below telling me your favourite and why and let’s chat!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

InstagramΒ (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

29 thoughts on “How Do You ‘Read’?

  1. Emma The Book Lover says:

    I like paperbacks/hardcovers best because I collect them and I love turning the pages, I’ve read ebooks but I don’t like it as much and I’ve never listened to an audiobook, but I’ve always wanted to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I love buying paperbacks, but I prefer reading on my Kindle. I’m not even really sure why. I think it’s just because of the convince. It’s not always easy for me to get physicals, especially new realeses and I love that instead of possibly waiting weeks I can have it instantly. I do love the feel/smell of a paperback though and how aesthetically pleasing they can be. I am trying to get back into reading them more. I’ve never listened to an audiobook and I don’t think I’d be able to. I multitask when I read so they should be ideal, but I just can’t get into them! I definitely understand the appeal though. Great post like always, Astra πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you Lauren!
      I totally know what you mean about convenience. Probably if I read more e-books I would be singing the same tune, but paperbacks have just always been around me, so it’s kind of became my got to format. I really do need to try read more e-books though because their cheaper! I don’t believe audiobooks are for everyone. They are great if you like them, but I don’t think I’ll be able to sit down and listen to a fictional book, I need to see the words. Thank you for commenting πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I love my paperbacks, because I’m a huge lover of my physical books, I love the feeling of having a book in my hands, there’s nothing like it. That makes me seem crazy, no? Haha. I have to say, getting an e-reader was really great for me, too, because I got sick of reading on my computer, it’s practical, light, and the light makes my eyes happy, ahah. I never tried out audiobooks before, and I don’t know if i’ll be able to focus as much as I can while I read…does that make sense?
    So…paperbacks are a win for me, ahah! Great discussion post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Nope not crazy at all, those thoughts are totally relatable to me! E-readers are really great! They are such a great thing of bookworms, so I can see why they are so popular. It’s all about the eyes when reading πŸ˜€ If I’m listening to an audiobook, then I have to concentrate fully on it which 9/10 times does not work. It’s great for anyone who can concentrate though!
      Thank you and thank you for commenting πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. amortalreader1 says:

    I can’t listen to audiobooks myself because my brain doesn’t stick with it so I feel like I haven’t listened to the book at all haha!
    I love paperbacks, I find hardback cover books really hard to read because I like the flexibility of the cover of a paper back so I can sit/lie in any position without it feeling stiff in my arms. Although I do own one or two hardbacks because they do look really pretty, I also own a kindle fire which I use as much as I read paperbacks. I commute to university so its so much easier having a kindle in my bag that takes up less space and I have the option of reading another book on my hour journey if I decide i’m not feeling the current book.
    Also I study English Lit so I don’t want to throw ANOTHER book in my bag haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Yep, me and audiobooks don’t mix that well either hahahaha. I love Hardbacks but mostly for their beautiful covers, but I love paperbacks because on your point of flexibility (and they are a lot cheaper!). Kindles are really nice! Such a great piece of tech for us bookworms because of the ‘100s of books, 1 place’ phrase! Hahaha yes, though we love books, book weight is something that kills me (and my shoulders).

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Ohh, great post! I’ve never actually read an audiobook before, I’m wondering if I should try but at the moment it’s not really something that interests me.
    I will always buy paperback and hardcover editions if I love a series that much but when it comes to actually reading I use my Kindle, just because I don’t have to worry about my actual books getting damaged in my bag going to and from work (and they totally would, you should see the shape of my Kindle cover!)
    Also I’ve found that eBooks are cheaper, they arrive on my Kindle right away and I don’t have to wait for dispatch or delivery from Amazon or anything. Plus no one on the train can see what I’m reading πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you!
      You should try an audiobook if you are interested as it might be your thing, but it’s not really my thing!
      I that’s actually a really good reason! If I really love a book I will just be REALLY gentle with the paperback/hardback but storing it in a kindle might be smarter! The edges of my books always get so damaged in my bags, so I can relate. I really do need to invest in another kindle. My first one kind of got wreckedπŸ˜…
      Thanks for commenting:D

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Maybe one day, I started listening to podcasts last year even though I didn’t think that was my thing and ended up loving them, maybe it’ll be the same with audiobooks.
        Exactly, I like to keep my actual copies of books as close to perfect as I can. I hate when the cover gets damaged or torn and I know if I kept any paperbacks in my work bag they wouldn’t last a day!
        Oh man I LOVE my Kindle, I wouldn’t be able to survive without it πŸ˜€
        And that’s all right, I thought this was a great post, I loved reading it πŸ˜€

        Like

  6. AccioPadfoot says:

    I’ve never read an audiobook before, but I’m not really sure I’d like it :/ Maybe some day I’ll give it a go, who knows? If I’m buying books in physical form, I’ll buy paperbacks as they are way cheaper than hardbacks, and I love floppy they can be sometimes if that makes sense? They’re so easy to hold. On the other hand, I did buy a Kindle 7th gen refurb earlier this year and I love it! I’ve always hated reading on LCD screens; it gave me a headache and made my eyes feel crap. Tbh, it just made the whole reading experience feel crap lol. My Kindle is way, way different though. The e-ink screen is so pleasing to the eye, I often forget I’m even reading on a screen, I can also change the font size to suit my crappy eyes. Sometimes I will read a paperback I have in physical on my Kindle just because the bigger font size is easier on my eyes (I should really get some reading glasses). If you hate reading on screens, I would say give the Kindle ago as I didn’t have much hope for it and now I love it! Great post, too, btw. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Hahahaha I think audiobooks are either a YAS or MEH and I lean more towards the meh because I just can’t concentrate on the words. Definitely give it ago if your curious though. I mean hardbacks are beautiful and everything but I agree that paperbacks are a lot more comfortable to read. I know e-readers are really great for us bookworms, that’s why I made a slight difference between e-readers and e-books on phones and tablets. I used to have a kindle but it kind of got ruined so I really need to invest in another one!
      Thank you πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      • AccioPadfoot says:

        Yeah, I feel as though I will just drift off into a land of imagination and not listen to it hahaha :O Ugh, yeah, hardbacks do look extremely pretty but paperbacks are soo comfy! You should!! I was soo shocked at how good they were! I honestly thought they were gonna be crap like reading a tablet. Now I eat my words haha.
        No problem! πŸ˜€

        Like

  7. Word Wonders says:

    I’ve never listened to an audiobook, although I think I might try someday in the near future. There are plenty things that don’t need a lot of focus that you can do while listening to it. Like doing the dishes hahaha, driving (Just don’t kill anyone please) or even working out , though it shouldn’t be some hardore workout.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. wonderfilledreads says:

    Physical copies – either hardback or paperback. The only ebooks I get are NetGalley ARCS or when I was living in Prague and couldn’t find the book I wanted in English. I really don’t like having to read on my tablet but I will when I have to.

    Like

  9. Kat Impossible says:

    I love physical books more than anything, but i will be the last person to argue the practicality of ebooks. I like them too, even though some annoy me if they are not formatted correctly.
    However, I have not yet hopped on the audiobook bandwagon. They are partially really expensive and I wouldn’T even know on what device to listen to them.

    Like

  10. transhaan says:

    Definitely Physical books for me hahah but Ive read a lot of books via ebooks format πŸ™‚ And its so fast omg.. Like I thought I read fast but ebooks are like the fastest way to finish a book LOL

    Like

  11. Aldii says:

    I looove paperbacks, or physical books in general but if I only read them I would just read one book per month or less because they are SO expensive in my country.
    So I have to read e-books, it’s not the same feelings and my eyes got used to it but at the beginning they weren’t happy with me (I still don’t think they are) but I can read more books that way.
    I haven’t ever tried to listen to an Audiobook but, I would like to try! πŸ˜€

    Like

  12. Hilary (SongsWroteMyStory) says:

    I definitely prefer hard copies of books – paperbacks preferably, but hardcovers are fine too. But having moved more than 8 times in the past six years, three of which have been cross country, e-readers are definitely a great thing. It’s a lot easier to pack an e-reader in your carry on than try to take a bunch of books.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ayunda says:

    I looove paperbacks (hence the blog name), but I think almost 50% of the books I read nowadays are ebooks. They’re just much more handy and cheap, and I have like a hundred ebooks on my virtual library, waiting to be read! 😁

    Like

  14. DrAwkto says:

    I love paperbacks because of the physical feeling of flipping the pages and just holding the book. I do find reading ebooks more convenient for me since I can read after dark while all my lights are turned off. Super bad for the eyes, I know, but I can’t help it! If I keep the lights on, people will know that I’m still up.

    I tried listening to a audiobook before. I kinda multitask and do something else. I started with Welcome to Nightvale, and it’s fantastic and quirky. Unfortunately, I end up doing other things and zone out of the podcast. Thus, having me to go back and listen to it again, which is completely inefficient. For the sake of my time, I don’t listen to audiobooks because of my bad habits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

