Top 5 Wednesday- Rainy Day Reads

Hello everyone! I haven’t did a T5W in AAAAGEESSS! I don’t really know what happened but I saw the topic this week and thought why the hell not! I don’t think I’ve did a recommending post in quite a long time, so this was a brilliant topic for me!

Top 5 Rainy Day Reads

1) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes– This book is so great  and the writing is as cozy, authentic and enjoyable to read as Rainbow Rowell’s own writing. If you haven’t read this book I think you need to get on it as it’s such a great read to curl up with a thick blanket with, not to mention the characters are spot on.

2) An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa TahirIf you want an epic, high fantasy novel with characters you want to root for then you need to pick up An Ember In The Ashes. The writing and world-building is so fabulous and immersive.

3) All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven– I liked reading this book so much and I feel like I don’t talk about it enough on this blog. Though I didn’t love Violet, my love for Finch was enough for both of them. Sometimes I find that contemporaries can be a tad boring, this one hooked me right away.

4) Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo– I can basically spend this time talking about how swoonworthy the Darkling is and all but I have to talk about the brilliant world Bardugo created! From the Russian influences to the magic, Shadow and Bone is such a fun, but suspenseful read and the perfect book to read while it’s pouring it outside.

5) The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen– I feel like I talk about this book way too much, but I’m just compensating for the lack of love for this book I’ve seen. I just loved it so much and it’s lovely high fantasy setting is brilliant at transporting you from your rainy day to an epic, fantasy world.


Those are my rainy day reads, what are yours? Tell me below which books you would read on a rainy day (which is 80% of the time in the UK) and recommend down below and let’s get chatting!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

-Top 5 Wednsday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey over on Youtube and is hosted by Samantha @ Thoughts Of Tomes in which we are given a weekly topic to make Top 5 lists to.

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group

 

 

19 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday- Rainy Day Reads

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    I love the Grisha series, Leigh Bardugo is one of the authors I completely fangirl over whenever she releases something new. I haven’t read any of the others but I have An Ember in the Ashes on my to-read list and I am very excited to start that one because I’ve heard great things about it. Great picks, I’m even more excited to start An Ember in the Ashes now, it sounds like just my kind of book!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      I really need to continue it! It’s been months since I’ve read Shadow and Bone and I’m ready to get back into it!
      An Ember In the ashes is SO GOOD! Though the romance was a little meh I still enjoyed it and I really don’t talk about it enough!
      I hope you like it when you read it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Ohh, I recently re-read the whole series because of Six of Crows and honestly it was just as good the second time around. I really hope you enjoy the rest of the series!
        Yeah, I have heard that about the romance :/ but the reviews I’ve heard about the book in general are largely positive so I guess in the end I’ll just have to make my own judgement (which I do with books anyways)!

        Like

  2. thesassygeek says:

    Great list, Astra! I just got a copy of An Ember in the Ashes and now I really want to read it because of this, I also need to read my copy of Me Before You. I love, love, love fantasy novels so I think I’m going to check out Queen of the Tearling now as well! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you! You have to read it soon! It’s such a great fantasy novel, I sped through it. Me Before You was so adorable yet so sad, so have tissues ready when you start reading it πŸ˜€ Queen of the Tearling was really great, though I little slow at the start, I really appreciate the whole world and characters.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

