Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah.J Maas

72486_original

Title: Heir of Fire

Author: Sarah.J Maas

My rating: 4.25/5

Goodreads rating: 4.57/5

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Publisher:  Bloomsbury

Summary (Goodreads):

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.


 

Review:

Spoilers for the previous books in the Throne of Glass series but, unless said, no spoilers for Heir of Fire.

I finished this book at 5AM thoroughly exhausted and not because I stayed up until the early morning to finish this book, but because all of the drama and action in the last twenty pages. I’m going to be honest, this book was a filler. It built a bridge of knowledge for us to get to Queen of Shadows, but this wasn’t an action book and for this reason I rated it lower than Crown of Midnight but let’s discuss this book in more detail!

Plot:

After warrior fae Rowan finds Celaena in the middle of Wendlyn, dirty, hungry and tired she gets taken to her formidable aunt Maeve to make a deal- she must prove herself powerful with her magic and Maeve will give her answers about Wrydmarks. She has no choice but to agree but Celaena will have to be broken and built back together to become the Queen Nehemia knew she could be. Darkness is advancing and though Celaena doesn’t want to be tethered to the throne she will have to embrace her past and the inevitable future of war if she wants to protect the people she cares about.

This book was incredibly slow at the start. Like really slow. After all of that action in Crown of Midnight I was ready to dive straight back into it, but there was a lot of … I wouldn’t say info-dumping but Maas could of cut out many passages and the story wouldn’t of altered one bit. But, it’s really conflicting because Maas’ writing is so lovely to read but I couldn’t read on. At around page 230 I stopped reading because of a reading slump, but I picked it up a week later and feel right back into the story. I think I was waiting for the part in the story where I would basically snowball down a hill and want to keep on reading and reading, but it was like trudging through mud while reading Heir of Fire.

Don’t get me wrong, I did like the plot a lot and nothing really made me angry in the plot but gosh why was it so slow. You could of scrapped a hundred pages in this novel. I am normally a fan of multiple POVs but all of the POVs were like the same and there was no rest-bite from POV A by POV B. Basically the book had some sparks of action here and there which I gobbled up like a greedy child but I wish there were more.

I will talk about the ending in a spoilery part at the end, but DAMN! That ending brought the book from a 4 to a 4.25. JUST YES!

Writing:

Sarah.J Maas’ writing was as awesome as always and seemed to have a sophisticated flare to it. Though the pace was painstakingly slow, when I was interesting in all of the filler parts, I really loved how the information was given to us and piece by piece we had this world, which was already built up in our head, being added and added. So brilliant world building! And the passages when we read about Celeana’s inner turnoil and her own identity crisis were so good! I loved it!

“You cannot pick and choose what parts of her to love.”

Characters:

Another thing that brought the book up to me were the characters! We get introduced to loads of new characters and we see old favourites change and try to find themselves again.

I’m writing about him because I love him so much…OH MY GOD DORIAN! HE GOT ALL WISE AND EVERYTHING AND OF COURSE I’M STILL FLOPPING AND FALLING OVER HIM! YOU CAN JUST TELL HE’S CHANGED FOR THE BETTER. His and Sorscha’s relationship was so cute and I felt so happy reading him happy. His POV was like my favourite to be honest tied with Celeana’s when he one was interesting.

Celeana is a rare character to me because I just really like her and I don’t like a lot of protagonist. She is just so strong and badass and vulnerable. In Heir of Fire you really see her broken and you will her to build herself back up. I just really like how Maas handled her character and gave her the backstory we all craved for and did it justice.

Umm was I the only one who wasn’t fkjcdndsjknkajoia about Rowan. Like he was good lucking and everything and he has this really broken moment in his past and he was this badass warrior but….I’d rather steal Dorian!I was wary of Aedion on at the start but I so rate him now. Such an amazing character! And Chaol…hmm I guess he was just a little meh during the whole book.

What I liked:

  • The characters really carried this story I think and boy did they carry it!
  • World building was great!
  • The writing was superb as always.
  • THAT ENDING!

What I Disliked/Could be improved:

  • Too long
  • Too Slow
  • Not enough action

Verdict: Heir of Fire wasn’t as quick or exciting and was basically a filler. Though just because it was a filler book doesn’t mean that the characters weren’t as awesome or that the writing wasn’t as amazing! Maas through us in the deep end with this novel, with only the characters being familiar, but somehow she pulled off a great book!

SPOILER ZONE! If you have not read Heir of Fire go now! But not before dropping a comment saying if you are reading the Throne of Glass series or not! NOW GO!

….

….

OMG THAT ENDING WAS TOO MUCH! TOO MUCH! There were tears in my eyes throughout that whole scene! My hatred towards the King had never been more intense! I wish he could be gutted and head be stuck to a pike.

First of all, YOU DO NOT DO THAT TO DORIAN! HE WAS BEGGING! BEGGING! And he still kills Sorscha. Like no way you do that, no way. And then when I though Chaol was about to be killed, and Dorian was just like HELL NO! And Aedion! Poor Aedion-seriously he got the bad side of the cookie. I value him so highly now.

But I just can’t believe all of that happened. It was such a shock and that is what I wanted through out the whole book.

SPOILERS OVER

….

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

11 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah.J Maas

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    I completely agree with you about the negatives of this book; too slow, too long, and not enough action, but the characters were amazing. I loved that we were introduced to so many in this book and they completely made up for the lack of action. Also honestly I thought the fourth book more than made up for the lack of action in the third.
    But yes, that ending! God it was heartbreaking, I swear everything from Sorscha’s death to the end pretty much broke my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      The characters were so great, they really held up the story and is probably the reason why I carried on.
      That’s good then, that means Queen of Shadows must be filled to the brim of action.
      It felt like everything was going well and then BAM everything crumbled. I was half laughing because of how cruel Maas and half on the verge of crying because of the cruelty.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Yes, I think that’s why the third book was so slow, because Maas needed to build up all the new characters she introduced.
        Oh yes Queen of Shadows was pretty much non-stop and it felt like a really turning point in the series if that makes sense.
        Part of me knew it was doomed just because they both seemed happy and obviously it could never last with everything the King was and did. But still reading it was completely shocking! All I could think was; WHY?!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        That whole scene was literally a roller coaster of emotions. I really hoped everyone would get out alive but obviously that did not happen and by the end of the book I was pretty much destroyed. Poor Dorian, he seems to have been through so much since the start of the series.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

