Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760

Title: Scarlet

Author: Marissa Meyer

My rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.31/5

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Publisher:  Feiwel and Friends

Summary (Goodreads):

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.


Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.


Review: 

A few spoilers for the first book- read on at your own risk!

So I just finished reading this amazing book and oh my gosh it was brilliant! I was a fan of Cinder when I read it, but it was a little too average and shabby around the edges. And then everyone started telling me that the other books in the series were much better and thank golly gosh I believed them! This book had humour, suspense, action and grief. It was just so well done!

Plot:

Scarlet takes place straight after the first novel with Cinder trying to breakout of prison. When she lands into Captain Thorne’s cell it’s the start of a friendship which will take then halfway  across the world to find information about the ‘lost’ Lunar princess. In France, Scarlet seems to be the only one concerned about her missing Grandmother, though when she  meets street fighter, Wolf, he is willing to help but his murky past may put Scarlet in more danger then she realises. As Cinder and Scarlet cross paths they must look towards the bigger picture, a Lunar invasion, to survive their dangerous missions.

I think it took me like fifty pages to get into this book and then after that point all I wanted to do was read it! I think one of the things I loved most about this novel was that how the different storylines crossed and merged. The reader was put in this omnipresent perspective where you could see all what was happening and what was inevitable going to happen. Though sometimes the pace was a little bit wobbly it didn’t really affect my reading experience all too much and there was always an underlying sense of urgency.

You, like the characters, believe that all of the events from the last book happened like weeks ago, when it is only a few days! Maybe that’s why I thought the pace was sometimes off.  The multiple POV’s were very welcome as I could tell that if this book was purely just Scarlet’s POV or Cinder’s POV then this book would of struggled to keep my interest as well as it did with the multiple POVs. The book wrapped up really well especially after all of that action in the end. That revelation at the end really just brought things into perspective and made we wish there was a hundred pages more!

Writing:

As in Cinder the writing was quite average but I think you could tell there was a step up kind of which is probably why the book hooked me so much. From Meyer’s writing you really got the sense of urgency and danger and time running out and the Lunar fight scenes were surprisingly clear. What I really liked though were the scenes where Cinder was kind of rediscovering herself- they were really lovely passages. Also there was a lot of banter in this book, probably because of Thorne’s and Cinder’s friendship, and it was highly appreciated.

“Thorne blinked at her, then down at the sewage he could barely make out in the darkness. “Don’t you have some tool in that fancy hand of yours that can get us across?”
Cinder glared, light-headed from her body’s instinctively short breaths. “Oh, wow, how could I have forgotten about my grappling hook?”

Characters:

I surprisingly liked all of the characters in Scarlet including Scarlet. She wasn’t as annoying as I thought she was going to be and I loved her fiery spirit and determination. I think I wish that she was little bit more developed. Wolf was a conflicting character in all of this and I know I liked his character, but gosh I knew he was sneaky.

I really loved Cinder i this book even though she wasn’t the main main character she was really likable and dynamic. I really felt for her- being a cyborg and Luna, and I understood why she didn’t want to take the responsibility of being a princess just yet. Thorne was like the best character EVER! He’s funny, charming, quick thinking (when he wants to be) and did I mention funny? Even his little actions were so funny, his and Cinder’s friendship really lightened up the book and was lovely to read.

What I liked:

  • Captain Thorne
  • The quick and dynamic plot
  • The plot twists were not always predicatable
  • Captain Thorne

What I disliked/ could be improved:

  • Pacing was sometimes off
  • Scarlet could of done with more characterisation.

Verdict: This sequel was fast paced and alive with suspense, humour and the danger of a Lunar invasion ever closer. Though Scarlet wasn’t perfect it’s characters started to become more familiar and I established a connection with all of them especially Cinder. The plot continued to surprise and engage me and I cannot wait to dive into Meyer’s fantastical, futuristic world again in Cress.

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

Follow my blog on Bloglovin!

 

 

26 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    I really love the Lunar Chronicles, and though Scarlet isn’t my favourite book of the series, I definitely prefered Cress and Winter, I did really enjoy it. Especially every scene between Thorne and Cinder; their relationship was brilliant and I found myself laughing at some of their conversations!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

