Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

9780718157838-me-before-you-reissue-jacket-2

Title: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

My rating: 4.75/5

Goodreads rating: 4.30/5

Genre: Romance, Contemporary

Publisher: Penguin

Summary (Goodreads):

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.


What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.



Review:

This book really blew me away! I know how everyone talks about how sad it was and how they were ugly crying, but think the novel is just so pure goodness! From the characters to the writing everything was just extremely well done. I could of read this is one sitting but alas one cannot read all day sadly.  Anyway, lets get on to why I liked this book so much.

Plot:

Lou is a twenty-six year old with low ambitions who still leaves under her parents roof and has recently lost her job.  Will is a quadriplegic, robbed from being able to care for himself again. Through coincidental circumstances they both meet- Lou becoming the carer for Will. Though reception is stony at first, walls start crumbling down as Lou and Will both start to change in ways they didn’t think were possible.

I love how the story really unraveled its self and the pacing was totally spot on! I really enjoyed reading about Lou and getting to know her. I was gripped by this book right from the start, probably because of how realistic it read- it was a totally refreshing read. The plot moved on seamlessly and without any hiccups, every last page of a chapter hooking me more so that I would have to read another one. Though it seemed like there was a undertone of…not sadness but maybe melancholy the plot was as colourful as Lou’s personality. I liked how it wasn’t always all sunshine and rainbows and there were some darker moments which brought you back to reality. It’s clear prose was so lovely to read and I liked how there were some chapters when it wasn’t Lou’s POV. That was a nice surprise.

The ending was as heart breaking as everybody said, but I wasn’t ugly crying or anything. It was werid, because it definietly was sad. Maybe it was because I knew it was going to happen so the impact was soft and not rock hard.

Writing:

The writing was so beautiful, it was just amazing! Me Before You is one of those books that you just love reading, if not for the characters, then for the fabulous writing. Lou’s voice was really authentic which made it so engrossing I think. How Moyes wrote some of the darker parts of the novel was really nice- I know that sounds weird but she didn’t really linger on those moments so that it was depressing but you still knew how important they were.

“…I told him a story of two people. Two people who shouldn’t have met, and who didn’t like each other much when they did, but who found they were the only two people in the world who could possibly have understood each other.”

Characters:

Lou is one of the most lovable characters I’ve read! She was so realistic and quirky and bright and funny and a tiny bit naive. She really did bring some colour not just into Will’s life but into the book. This book could of easily of been a depressing read, but her outlook is so positive. Me being a ‘supporter’ of such of euthanasia made me sometimes frustrated at her statements but I understood them. Her entire character arc was so rewarding to see and left my satisfied indeed,

Will is my kind of character. Witty, sharp and intelligent I loved reading about him even though half of the time he was snarky. From that first moment he met Lou I just knew he was going to be a great character! His chemistry with Lou was just adorable. Both of them were flawed characters in one aspect or another but it’s like they both made each other whole.

What I liked:

  • The Characters were so fantastic and realistic!
  • The writing was gorgeous to read.
  • The plot was so addicting, whenever I stopped reading the book was always at the back of my mind.

What I disliked/ could be improved:

  • Nothing much, I guess this book just didn’t affected me as it did with other readers.

Verdict: This book has a lot of highs and lows which made everything just more addicting and engrossing. With Moyes writing being as beautiful and realistic as her characters, you really can’t go wrong by reading Me Before You.

-Astra

Instagram (Bookstagram)

Twitter

Goodreads

Follow my blog on Bloglovin!

15 thoughts on “Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

