Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

img_8274

Title: Kindred Spirits

Author: Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.05/5

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult

Summary (Goodreads):

Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.


 

Review:

This book was so adorable! Like literally, this is one of the cutest things I’ve read. Even though this book talks about Star Wars quite a lot, don’t worry- you don’t have to be a fan of Star Wars to like this book. I’m not a fan of Star Wars  simply because I haven’t watched all the movies except for the newest one so I know not a lot about that franchise, but if people don’t like this book because they don’t like Star Wars then they missed the message of the  book.

Plot:

Elena is a massive Star Wars fan, it is her life and obsession so when chance comes for her to camp outside a cinema to wait for the premier of the newest movie to show, she takes it with both hands. What she doesn’t anticipate though is to be at the back of a three person line and to pee in soda cups.  But this three person line might just be the meeting place for two people who might not have spoke to each other for the rest of their lives.

So even though this is a book that is under a hundred pages, this was a short and sweet story to follow.This book couple of easily been over 200 pages if it wasn’t a World Book Day book (books that are notorious for being small), but this fact doesn’t change the way I felt about this book. The plot was as light  and addicting as a Rainbow Rowell book. You quickly got en captured by Elena’s story. This isn’t a book about Star Wars, but about how much you love a particular fandom. I don’t know about you but I would definitely be in Elena’s place if it was a J.K Rowling book signing or something really major like that. So even though I am not a Star Wars fan it didn’t stop me from relating to Elena’s story. It’s  masterfully created, each element being pieced together really nicely until you get a small, but engaging story.

One complaint I do have about the story though is just the ending. A little too messy and quick for my liking. I think a couple of more paragraphs would of ended it nicely.

Writing:

This is Rainbow Rowell we’re talking about so the writing didn’t fall back at all. It was still lovely and warm like hot chocolate. Everything was smooth and every sentence seemed to be important as the book was so short. Elena’s excitement really translated while reading the book and I could only relate to it!

And the thing about nerd culture being mainstream culture now means that there’s no place to just be a nerd among other nerds – without being reminded that you’re the nerd.

Characters:

Umm can we get a whoop for some diversity? Elena isn’t white everybody! She is, and I quote ‘Vietnamese’! Just a nice touch as she could of easily been white but she add some diversity into this book. Anyway, I really liked Elena’s character she seemed pretty average and ‘normal’ and though that can be read as boring, it was quite refreshing not to have this special sort of protagonist, but just a girl who is apart of a fandom!

I was really interested in Gabe’s character and I was happy that he got more of a important role than I wasn’t expecting. His friendship (and I’m going to say friendship as I don’t think romance was really the deal there) with Elena was really cute and it was great to see her share her geeky love with someone her age. Troy was a nice addition to the novel as well and made the Line complete with his colourful persona and geekiness.

What I liked:

– The friendship between Elena and Gabe was ADORABLE.

-The writing was warm, smooth and overall fantastic.

-Just the whole story was really relatable and ADORABLE.

What I disliked/can be improved:

– The ending was a little bit messy and quick for me liking. Another page I think and it would of been better.

Verdict: This book was so quick and not just a tale about Star Wars but a tale about what it is like to be in a fandom and what it is like to share that excitement and love with other people. A quick reader but an enjoyable one!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

7 thoughts on “Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

  1. fromlibrarywithlove says:

    Love your review style! I’m excited to read this soon, I’ve read almost all of Rowell’s other novels (except for Landline), but was kind of bummed to find out that this wasn’t a full length novel. Anyway, I’ll just have to read this one and wait for her to write another. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

