World Book Day Books!

Hey guys and happy world book day!

This is one of my favourite days of the year to be perfectly honest. In my primary school, and like many around Britain, we all got dressed up as our favourite book characters and basically just read for the day.  I can’t remember many of my costumes now that I think back on it, but I remember clearly one year of me being dressed up as a girl who walked dogs to make money in the book- I think it was just me cheating and wearing jeans and a top for a day to be honest. But anyway I love the excitement that this day can bring to children!

878716-890

I really hope this day encourages loads more children to read. It’s a shame in this day and age reading is treated as an oddity when it really should be celebrated. Books are the stepping stones of knowledge after all!

One thing I love about world book day are the free books  that you can get if you live in the UK or Ireland! I actually didn’t get any vouchers today, but I think I will tomorrow as apparently the teachers forgot to give them out…

wbd-promo-c2a31books

Anyway here are all of the books that you can get if you have the WBD voucher with you or you can buy them for £1! Or you can get £1 off any book in participating stores, including Waterstones if my memory is right.

wbd2b20162bbooks

Yep so as you can see by the pre-school and the key stages 1 and 2, these are meant for children, but nobody said that you can’t buy a middle grade! As everybody can see one of our favourite authors, Rainbow Rowell, has graced World Book Day with her presence in the form of Kindred Spirits. And it’s only for a quid! I am definitely buying that but I think I want to get Harper and the Sea of Spirits as well which is the second one on the second line as it looks cool and again it’s for a quid.

Here is the complete list of the books down below (going from left to right from the picture) and the links go to their respective World Book Day Page.

Kipper’s Visitor by Mick Inkpen

Supertato: Hap-pea Ever After by Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet

Daisy and the Trouble with Jack by Kes Gray and Nick Sharratt

The Great Mouse Plot by Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake

Welcome to the World of Norm by Jonathan Meres 

Star Wars: Adventures in Wild Space by Cavan Scott 

Harper and the Sea of Secrets by Cerrie Burnell and Laura Ellen Anderson

The Boy Who Could Do What He Liked by David Baddiel

Spot the Difference by Juno Dawson 

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Again, happy world book day everyone!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

 

8 thoughts on “World Book Day Books!

  1. belleinfini says:

    World Book Day sounds amazing! I guess, its not really celebrated where I’m from or at least not at my school, but I really, really NEED to read Kindred Spirits. Do you think there would still be a way for me to buy it somehow? I’ll have to look it up. Hope you have an amazing World Book Day!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lorraine says:

    I remember one particular costume I dressed up as during world book day. The very popular Hermione Granger. I had the hair already, so we had to buy a robe and wand. The robe obviously no longer fits, but I’ve still got it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

