How Do You Rate?

Hey guys! It’s only the second day of March and it’s already rained, snowed, hailed and the the sun came out to play for a bit. Only in the UK everyone.

british-weather-cartoon-1024x544

Anyway, I don’t think I normally do discussion posts on Wednesdays- I guess I’m just more deep at the the end of the week. But this question or topic really is one I’ve been thinking about for a while so I thought I might as well capitalise on it today!

So, how do you rate?

On the topic of rating books the waters can become a little sketchy as everyone has there only like way of rating books. The reason why I feel more interested then I really should do about this topic is because I am the minority when I use the .25, .5, .75 when rating a book.


Let’s start with the basics first:

1 star– Hated the book.

2 stars– Disliked the book, but had one or two elements that I liked that made me not out-rightly hate the book.

3 stars– Liked the book overall but had a few things that I didn’t like.

4 stars– I really enjoyed reading the book and one found tiny things that made me not give it 5 stars.

5 stars– Loved reading the book and found near to nothing wrong with it!


This is the basic rating system I work with at the moment which I think is relatively ‘normal’. Now the decimal points.

happy-face-meme-png-14

Each one is kind of influenced by the numbers that surrounds it. For example a 4.75 would mean that it was a really really great book, but maybe the romance just wasn’t that good or the start of the book was a bit slow. But a 3.75 would mean that it’s was really solid and good but the one or two things that I didn’t like irked a little too much slightly.

I guess the decimal system is a little hard to explain as it’s more of an emotionally based thing but I think a like them. For me, just dishing out 1,2,3,4 and 5 would not be enough for me, I would want to differentiate the books I read more.

Rating is not only just important to the rater but to readers that read your review which is why this topic has plagued me slightly. If a person sees that a book is 2.75, their idea of a 2.75 could be vastly different to me, making that rating not really useful.

I don’t know you guys, the decimals are my best pals but I don’t want people to become confused/misunderstood over them.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic and about the rate system you use for when you are reviewing books!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

33 thoughts on “How Do You Rate?

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    I might complain about a book’s weaknesses on my blog and also talk about things the author did or didn’t do that I learned from as a writer, but I’m reluctant to publicly rate books at fewer than four stars. On Goodreads, for example, I’ll rate a book as 5-star, sometimes 4-star, or with no rating at all.

    But I really appreciate when other readers honestly rank the books they’ve read because it gives me a better feel for what I might like to read. That includes reviews that say things like, “I could only mark this book with three stars, but I actually wanted to give it a 3.5.” That makes a difference!

    Liked by 2 people

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Why do you not score a book lower than 4 publicly? I believe that every rating can help a person buy or not buy a book. Like a person may score a book 5 stars because of the romance but another might score it 3 because there was no action and if a person who likes action see that 3 star review it will help them make an informed decision.
      I agree with you that when people are brutally honest in their reviews! It’s rather refreshing.

      Like

  2. Katherine Viti says:

    I rate things based on immediate reactions after I read, but I think I rate too highly. I do what I call an “Infinity Star” rating for my all-time favorite books, to differentiate them from plain old awesome reads that aren’t personal favorites.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kat Impossible says:

    I mostly go by gut feeling when I rate a book, yet I do have sort of a system. Every book starts out with 3 stars for me. It means it’s neither bad nor particularly good. It’s entertaining but nothing stands out and then as the reading journey really begins, the rating changes according to what is happening in the story and whether I like the characters or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ashleigh says:

    I feel like everyone’s discussing book rating today. I even uploaded my own discussion earlier about something similar haha!
    Like most people, I use .5’s – usually because I save my 5/5’s for absolute favourite books, but I’ll love a book THAT much I need to give it 4.5 rather than 4.
    What I like to do though is rate a book out of 10, and then half it to get my actual rating. Somehow that seems easier *shrugs*

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Kirstie Ellen says:

    I tend to try and stick with just 1-5 but I do use 0.5 every now and then. I think it’s half the fact that I’m too lazy to really pinpoint that specifically my feelings about a book, but I also feel it’s sort of unnecessary. I try to stick with the whole numbers to force myself to make a clear cut decision of yes or no, I liked it or I didn’t. And then my review acts as the decimals to clarify where my feelings sit on a more detailed level. I save my 0.5’s for the books I just really, really can’t decide on.

    It’s such a tricky thing! I admire people who are able to run the decimal way of reviewing consistently. And thank goodness for reviews seeing as everyone rates so differently! Great discussion 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ayunda says:

    For this blog I use .5 only because so I can express my opinion more I guess. But 5-star reads for me means a book that doesn’t have to be perfect but pulls an emotion from me that is hard for me to forget. Also added with good plot, characters, writing style, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beth|Hello Beautiful Book Blog says:

    Usually I stick to whole numbers 1-5 and will incorporate .5 when I just really cannot decide between the two numbers! I feel like I’m an emotional rater, so my mood really plays on what I’m going to give the book. Most of the time I try to read what different genre I feel like I need at the moment to get better ratings!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. DrAwkto says:

    Ooh, I love the topic of rating system. I rate books differently depending on where I’m at. If I’m on goodreads, I’ll follow their basic convention, but on my blog I have a different rating system.
    On my blog I’ll try to rate it objectively instead of subjectively. This is because I am picky with my novel. I often don’t like popular novels, but I do recognize they are good. And I feel like that’s the problem with subjective rating system sometimes. (everyone have different tastes)

    So instead of giving a good novel 2/5 because I didn’t like it I rather give a good novel 4/5 because it was good and I’ll even list out the reasons why the book was good. I also link a goodreads review to my blog book reviews so that people can read what I thought of the novel based on my subjective opinions on Goodreads, if they want.

    The breakdown of my rating system is;
    5- above average
    4- good
    3 – okay
    2- not bad
    1- terrible.

    A 1 is reserved for truly poor works of literature. I also do a decimal in my reviews as well, but that’s only because the book is better than okay, but it has flaws that doesn’t make it good. Haha. Idk maybe that’s a bit confusing. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      I really like that you review objectively instead of subjectively so that people will be able to judge themselves whether or not they would want to read a novel on a review which isn’t just purely subjective. I would do the same too but I think when I review I do do it subjectively because…if’s hard to describe really but when I review like a 3 star book I talk about the different aspects of the books and whether I liked them or not so I guess people can judge whether or not to buy a book by the aspects I described and not entirely my opinion of them…yeah I’m not sure if that makes sense 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • DrAwkto says:

        Surprisingly it does make sense, I think I understood what you were trying to convey.
        I would like to do the same as you, but I’m cautious on how long my reviews are. I tend to ramble a lot and I realized that people don’t like reading long reviews. I do have talking points of the basics. Plot, characters, and writing style. Subjective reviews are fun because I get to figure out what the reviewer’s tastes are like, which is very fun. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

