Discussion: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

This random space of the week is usually filled with a bookish topic to debate about in the comments, but never really about a singular book. Maybe I should make this a more regular thing as I love talking about a specific book and reading people’s view about it.

Anyway so today’s book of discussion is Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

cleveland_social_post_sch

 Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child 

Author: J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany

Released Date: 31st July 2016

Summary: 

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.


While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.


First of all let me get my fangirlyness over and done with-

OH MY GOSH I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS IS HAPPENING! THIS IS JUST SO OUT OF THE BLUE AND OMG IT IS BEING RELEASED ON HER AND HARRY’S BIRTHDAY AND I AM SO READY FOR THIS RIGHT NOW! THE HARRY POTTER COMMUNITY WAS NEVER DEAD BUT NOW IT HAS RESURFACED FULLY IN FULL FORCE! THERE ARE GOING TO BE THINGS IN ACTUAL CANON NOW! I NEED THIS BOOK NOW!

-Deep breath-

Anyway now to actually write like a normal person.

As you can tell I am really excited for this  play to book conversion. It is a fantastic opportunity for Harry Potter fans across the world to know the next chapter of the story, especially as the play seems to be only set in London. Even though many people may think hey but you live in the UK! You can visit it! It sadly seems like my chances are as slim as a person living in America.

Also we finally have some next generation material! Though everyone was gunning for a Marauder Era book, while writing and reading fanfiction my favourite genre was next gen, just because everyone’s interpretation to what Rowling left us were so different to each other.

Now I think I should make this clear as I’ve seen some people getting this point wrong.

David Shelley, chief executive of the publishers Little, Brown Book Group said: “We are so thrilled to be publishing the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

The book is a script and not a normal fictional prose story if that makes sense, well it should.

Because of this fact, and me lacking in reading plays, I’m going to try and read as many plays as I can to get use to the format and reading style of them. This will hopefully make reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child less weird.


 

hp_next_generation_by_viria13-d483x6v

Next lets talk about canon! So I think I’m most excited for this book because finally we will have some solid canon about the Next Gen. Imagine all of the extra details about the wizarding world we will find out! And because it’s not just about Harry but Albus too imagine that information we will get on those bunch pictured above!


 

I hope the hype dies down.

I know we are all excited for this great release, but if you look at it without the title or author, this is becoming just another really hyped up book and it’s scaring me a little. I think I would feel more comfortable if this script-book was solely from J.K Rowling but it’s made with two other people as well so…yeah I just don’t want to build up this picture of this book in my head to just to let it crash down within the first act.

So I get all of the excitement guys, but I hope it calms down at least until it’s June.


 

Anyway, to make this a discussion you need to get involved to!

Questions of the day:

Are you happy that the next book is in the next generation or were you hoping for a marauder book?

What do you think about the dual narrative I sense will be getting from Harry and his son Albus? Would you rather it be just Harry or just Albus?

Do you have any concerns about the book?

Thanks for reading and I can’t wait to hear your views on this exciting annoucement!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

 

 

10 thoughts on “Discussion: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. AccioPadfoot says:

    I’m really pleased about the book carrying on where the last film finished. I’m wondering what it is going to be like, as it is written like a script and not a novel. None the less, I am sure it will be a brilliant book. I really hope one day there will be a Marauder book, but who knows. I’m just as happy for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Relating to duel narrative, I think it will definitely be interesting to read and think it’s a clever idea to combine the narratives of Albus and his dad Harry. (If that is who the narratives are)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket says:

    I’m definitely happy that it’s in the next generation. I was hoping that it’d be either the next generation or the previous generation. So this is exciting. Plays are something I haven’t read since college though. I might have to grab a few.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Perusing Pages says:

    I’m super excited that the script is going to be published. I’m fortunate enough to have grabbed a ticket to the play, so I’m not reading it until after my performance, but it’ll be nice to be able to look back on it and replay it in my head.

    I am stoked for the 8th story because we will hopefully get to catch up on everything that’s happened in the Wizarding World, and hopefully everyone, since Voldermort was defeated.

    I would love to see prequels (Mauraders’ Era) and sequels in the future, but for now I’m happy with what we’re getting. Even though it’s written by two others, it’s still J.K. Rowling’s story and vision, so it’s canon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Oh your so lucky! I hope you enjoy the play!
      Yeah that’s my thinking as well, the Wizarding World would of changed quite a bit from the seventh book.
      I feel like J.K Rowling has manuscripts of other stories and hopefully in a few years time she will just publish them.
      I’m praying that J.K brings some magic into the script.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. SeeQuinn says:

    My friends all sounded so disappointed when they said it was a script and when I was getting really over excited they were like: “you do realise it’s a script?” And I was like, “HELL YEAH!” because I’ve always liked the idea of not only writing stories but also script writing and now that good old Jo Rowling is releasing a script she remains one of my biggest inspirations… plus, I really want to watch the show!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

