Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

glass2bsword

Title: Glass Sword

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: HarperTeen

My rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.25/5

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Summary (Goodreads):

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?


Review:

Warning for some spoilers about Red Queen if you haven’t read it. This review will stay free of any spoilers about Glass Sword though.

So this book…WAS AMAZING! I loved it so much!I finished it a couple of minutes ago and I just knew I had to write the review straight away! My mind is surprisingly calm after the whirlwind of plot twists Aveyard gave us. Seriously, this book was just so good and I’m happy that the hype didn’t destroy the book and that even though it was the second book in the series, it wasn’t rubbish! So many great things…I should try to write a review now I guess.

Plot:

After the crazy end of Red Queen, Mare realises that she needs to act- and fast. The words anyone can betray anyone are permanently stuck in her brain and though she knows she needs others to help her succeed in her mission, like a deeply conflicted silver prince, a childish longtime friend and a protective but determined brother, she can’t help but trust no one. Including herself at times.

So loads of stuff happens in this book which makes it hard to even summarise about but essential Mare can trust no one and that makes it a bumpy ride for the reader. The chapters are long and filled with loads of action, you are never get two peaceful chapters in a row! And everything is so uncertain! Though we know what the bare bones of an impossible plan, it gets hard to follow with all of the plot twists! Our protagonist is never out of the firing line and never safe which makes the story even more addicting to read- you don’t know by if the end of the chapter a person is going to be killed or not.

The story beats at a quick, never ending beat which puzzled me slightly as I thought we would at least get some breathing time in Glass Sword. I never felt bored of this book, like never was I like- okay time to move scene or too much dialogue or okay we  get it now! Everything was largely enjoyable to read which might of been down to the ever changing characters.

Writing: 

The writing was typical YA I have to say though we get some great lengthy descriptions of the many locations which are appreciated because there is NO MAP! I would of really loved a map in this book. I know we got a small one in Red Queen but I think I would of really loved a map or two of the landscape so I didn’t have to refer to my dodgy imagination all the time. I really enjoyed how Aveyard described all of her characters and how raw they really were sometimes. They were really nice to grab on to while reading and I hope that some of the characters get fleshed out more in the next book.

The action scenes in this book were awesome though I wished that they were slightly clearler sometimes. Maybe Mare is just an unreliable narrator but at times where I thought character a and b were safe they actually weren’t and the other way around. Also Mare’s lengthy philosophical almost passages got a tad annoying. But more on that next.

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

Characters:

I couldn’t decide whether or not I liked Mare or not while reading Glass Sword. On one hand I loved how she was a badass and so powerful and driven, but on the other hand she was incredibly self-loathing and feeling guilty about everything. I mean I know you have some blood on your hands Mare, but calm down! I hated how she berated Kilorn in her mind and how stubborn or sometimes arrogant she was. She says that she wants to save people but then risks so many people’s lives! She didn’t damage the story for me exactly, but she was sometimes hard to chew.

Cal was a great character. I loved how he was strong yet so conflicting on the inside. You can really see him wanting to do something and yearning for something more. I think I feel sorry for Cal than I do Mare most of the time. But also I loved Kilorn! He became a really fleshed out character in this book, which is why it annoyed me so much when Mare was always putting Kilorn down, give the guy a break! You can tell he was really trying his hardest with everything for Mare. He reminds me strongly of Ron Weasley. You have Mare and Cal (Hermione and Harry) who are both highly good at something (their powers) but Kilorn is just the average Joe of the trio.

Well I say trio but at times the Newblood army felt like Dumbledore’s army! I kid you not, I was really seeing them like that!

I think I would of wanted a bit more characterisation from Farley and her (tiny spoiler warning) relationship with Shade was predictable, but overall she was still an important part of the team.

Now Maven…I wish I could of seen more of him! I wanted Maven in bucket loads and I only got a cup full! I loved how dark and sadistic and just plain evil he was when he did show up, though his appearance did read as abrupt in my mind.

What I liked:

  • The plot was always captivating and fast
  • The cast of characters we got was brilliant
  • The overall feel of the books was just so heart pounding- there was never a dull moment
  • KILORN!

What I disliked:

  • Mare’s self-loathing speeches were meh
  • I wish there was a map!
  • Not enough Maven….
  • A bit more characterisation from the side characters

Verdict: This book was so thrilling and action packed! Though Mare could be a tad annoying at times, she was the perfect narrator to show the ‘revolution’ beginning. There are never any slow moments and with everything going at lightening speed you just have to make sure to hold on and mind the plot twists! I cannot wait for the next books and I recommend everyone picking up Glass Sword!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

