Am I a Feminist? Or an Anti-Feminist?

Hey guys! So this is definitely not a book post as you can tell, but I know a lot of people in this community are into gender politics and politics in general, so I feel like my post will be appreciated.

are-you-a-feminist-hed-2013

First things first.

I am all for equality of both sexes.

In many feminists mind they probably think that the statement above is basically me waving a flag and calling myself a feminist. Well here is a definition of feminism, actually several definitions so my knowledge is sound.

the advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.

-Google

the ​belief that women should be ​allowed the same ​rights, ​power, and ​opportunities as men and be ​treated in the same way, or the set of ​activities ​intended to ​achieve this ​state

-Cambridge Dictionaries Online

Feminism is a range of movements and ideologies that share a common goal: to define, establish, and achieve equal political, economic, cultural, personal, and social rights for women.

-Wikipedia

the doctrine advocating social, political, and all other rights of women equal to those of men.

– Dictionary.com

I know the internet can’t always be trusted with information, but I’m pretty sure this definition is universal. So why aren’t a feminist? It’s for equality for women! Every women should be a feminist and if your not, you probably just don’t understand it.

Well admittedly, I was an anti-feminist three years ago. There were, and still, many double standards when it it came to modern feminism. I didn’t want to be associated with modern feminism. But then I kind of became a feminist again, after Emma Watson’s amazing UN speech. But again I am wavering.

I’ve revisited modern feminism and not loving it. Don’t get me wrong, of course there are many situations were women are treated unfairly, but most of them reside in third world countries and spreading popular hashtags aren’t really helping the situation. I am realising, like I realised three years ago, that there are many situations were men are treated unfairly, and just because they were giving some priviliges in the olden days while women were given rubbish doesn’t mean our society is still like that. I do not believe in patriarchy.

I think I feel more comfortable alligning myself with titles such an Egalitarian and Humanist than feminist. I am still all for women power, strong females, more role models for young girls but maybe more for everyone having equality and not just  associating myself with feminism that center around females.

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

29 thoughts on “Am I a Feminist? Or an Anti-Feminist?

  1. jbgarner58 says:

    It’s always interesting how a movement or term is defined in the proper is almost never how it really comes about.

    Like you, I would associate myself with egalitarianism, but only because it’s one of the few -isms that isn’t horrible misappropriated! Sexism of all kinds is still uncomfortably common here in the United States, and oft-times it is hidden under the guise of other -isms.

    Despite that sad fact, I’m scarily still optimistic about the overall good at the heart of humanity. *shrug*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mudandstars says:

    This was such an interesting post! I do consider myself a feminist, but like you I feel uncomfortable aligning myself with modern feminism, because I feel like modern feminism is picking all of the wrong battles to fight. People seem to get outraged about the most trivial things, when there are many countries around the world where women really don’t have any rights – I’m far more concerned about that than I am about all of the little things people seem to be getting angry about these days. What’s upsetting as well is that that kind of behaviour puts people off feminism and makes them not take it seriously, so the real problems get overshadowed by the minimal ones. Great discussion post 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you firstly for your comment!
      Secondly, that’s exactly how I felt. The behavior or words that come out of some high online profile feminists are just completely missing the point and doing things that make them seem childish. There are many real problems for both sexes and until we push away all of the little niggles of annoyance we won’t have a proper conversation.

      Liked by 2 people

      • mudandstars says:

        You’re welcome. I couldn’t agree more – it upsets me because I think it tarnishes people’s opinions of feminism, and makes them think that all feminists are crazy and petty and whinging about nothing. Which is a shame because feminism still does a lot of good (which is less visible because of the pettier things!) And that’s very true – there are important issues we need to tackle for men too (significantly higher suicide rates in men, for example), and yet whenever anybody speaks out about mens rights, they are treated like they are undermining women’s rights by doing so. Which is very sad, because equality is for everyone, and that includes BOTH sexes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        I know what you mean and it’s a shame that the popular feminists are making feminism a very childish movement. I wish in the future to see feminism doing more egalitarian practices when it comes to the sexes and lot making it seem like women need a helping hand to do anything and everything.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny says:

    I wouldn’t classify myself as a feminist. In some situations women are indeed, treated unfairly, but I also believe the same goes for men. Sexism is a terrible thing that affects both sexes, not just females. Great post, Astra!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bookmark Chronicles says:

    I understand why you feel that way so I just wanted to say that REAL feminists fight for gender equality. That means leveling the playing the field for both men and women where they are disadvantaged. The problem is that so many people misuse the term that a lot of people are questioning what it means or believing false definitions. Feminism was never meant to put one group over the other but people have distorted it to seem that way.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        Because at the time that the movement was started women were at a huge disadvantage not being able to work, drive, vote, etc. Now that we are actually making process we can start working for getting men other rights as well. You can’t advocate for another group of people when you’re still at the bottom of the totem pole.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        That’s the thing: women are not at the bottom of the totem pole. Men and women (in the western world) are equal on so many bases now and if women are unequal in some situations it’s more than likely that men are unequal in other situations. I agree that women were oppressed at the time the movement started, but now? I don’t think so.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        I’m not saying that they are now I’m saying that women were at the bottom of the totem pole before the movement started and they began to gain their rights. No one is denying that men are a disadvantaged in some areas but even now men are still more privileged than women. For example, despite the fact that there is an Equal Pay Act women still get paid less than men and that gap is even bigger for women of color. So yes, women are still oppressed in some ways and even though we’ve come a long way, there are still things that need to happen for true equality on both sides

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        And I watched the video, as a feminist I acknowledge all of the advances that women have made, nor do I deny that attending college in a America is a privilege. Other the other hand, I dont agree with the claim that sexist stereotypes prevent women from choosing different career paths and family goals I think thats BS. Even then that doesnt change the big picture here

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        So you don’t acknowledge the fact that there is no wage gap? The whole wage gap myth or not as prominent as many feminists say it is. Sexist stereotypes can affect women as much as it can affect males but even then I don’t understand your point. Why do you think women are not going into certain job sectors?
        And the big picture is?

        Like

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        I believe that those stereotypes exist but its a choice to go into certain professions not force. To me it doesn’t make sense to let a stereotype define your career or how you live your life. The big picture is that we have come along way but gender equality is still not a complete reality. And even women are pushed toward those professions there is proof that when men enter those same fields that are more female oriented, men still pass women for promotions, raises etc. Also in the video she said if its cheaper to hire women why wouldn’t they fire all of the male employees but no male CEO is going to want a company full of only women. I could pull any video off the internet that explains these things but will it really change your mind. That’s not what I’m trying to do anyway I’m just trying to understand. And you live in England yes? I was taught that the Western World refers to the Americas

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        I believe too that and I know stereotypes do not force people into jobs. And though you say that genders do not have equality you have not brought up am inequality that women have except for the the wage gap. The purpose of the video was to show that the wage gap doesn’t exist and there are many academic papers and reports that go that debunk this theory anyway. Women and men get PAID the same for the exact same work but men overall EARN more because most women out of their own free will decide to start a family and take time off work thus plateauing their careers and men work more hours and more unsociable hours at that.
        Also your point about CEOs not hiring women because they don’t want to a whole company of women is your view but an neutral and logical view of the situation would to see that the job of a CEO is to help bring in money to the company in many ways. So if hiring more women who apparently are paid less would mean less money being paid out by the company for its employees.
        Yes I live in England and when I refer to the Western World I mean Western Europe, the Americas, Australia and any country that adopts Western European culture like its clothes and values ect.

        Like

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        Oh okay I see what you’re saying. There are also articles that say the opposite about the wage gap. And I can say that there are not A LOT of places where women are underprivileged but they are in situations that can have a huge aspect on your life that stem from sexism in general including the amount of women that suffer from domestic violence, rape culture, etc. And in some cases there are companies that even if a woman does decide to have a baby she’s told to hire a nanny or her job will be gone. The outcomes and resources of those situations are still issues that need to be corrected.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        I see we are not going to get anywhere on the wage gap though it is almost categorically know that the wage gap was a myth.
        I get what your are saying how there are still some situations rooted in sexism towards women but it is the same with men and the modern feminist movement is now caring about the latter. Men also deal with domestic violence which I can say is not as well ‘catered’ for as when women are involved in domestic abuse. Rape culture is a murky area as I see some feminists changing the definite of rape whenever they feel like it.
        I am pretty sure that is illegal now so if a woman is in the situation she could go to the police then to the courts.
        Hmm 3rd/4th wave feminism in the western world just isn’t doing anything productive for the modern world.

        Like

      • Bookmark Chronicles says:

        You asked me to bring up something other than the wage gap so I left it alone. If you want to believe that it doesn’t exist then it’s your opinion, I’m not criticizing you for that. As a feminist, someone who believes in gender equality which is the definition of feminism, I believe that men and women should have the same rights and resources and that includes shelters for men who have been abused, getting rid of the ridiculous assumption that men can’t be raped, etc. You can’t change the definition of rape, it is what is is and despite it being illegal them at doesn’t prevent people from getting away with it by arguing “she wanted it too” “her skirt was too short” or “she didn’t fight back hard enough” and other excuses that imply that it was her fault. If you think raising awareness and fighting for equality isn’t productive, that’s fine I just wanted to see why you were on the fence about it

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

        Sorry if it felt like I was attacking your personally on the subject matter. I just feel really strongly on the subject and I like to talk to it to people as I normally don’t have the pleasure of doing so in my day to day life. If you believe that feminism is the way to go then I respect your choice, but for me personally I think that modern feminism or at least the modern feminists that are getting the spotlight are not doing enough to help gender equality it places that actually need it.

        Like

  5. Emma says:

    Interesting post, but I don’t think modern feminism is just about women. I definitely consider myself a feminist, and for me it’s about fighting the sexism that affects EVERYONE! I even wrote a whole post about why I think feminism is still the right word for it—check it out if you’re interested: http://eggplantemoji.com/2015/10/14/feminism-not-humanism/

    Also, the patriarchy doesn’t mean men are above women. The patriarchy is a very real thing, but it’s something that affects everybody—it’s the patriarchy that tells men they shouldn’t be stay-at-home parents, for example!

    http://eggplantemoji.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Well I read your post and I disagreed or felt like you were missing the point on somethings things. If feminism is for everyone why is your post basically about how feminism is for women still and when you only link it to men when it’s about men thinking about being considered as feminine and that’s the reason why they don’t speak up about their suicidal thoughts.
      I appreciate you trying to clear up the definition of patriarchy but you are like a needle in a haystack when other more well known definitions are getting thrown about.
      Thank you for your comment anyway 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

