Top Ten Tuesday- Historical Fiction/ Futuristic Novels That I Want To Read

Happy Top Ten Tuesday! So this week’s theme was basically about you having to do a post about either the past or the future, you can do your own spin on the theme and it seems like all the Top Ten Tuesdays I’m writing are basically TBRs but thats because I want to read so many books! Well I am tackling two genres in this post, Historical Fiction which I love and the futuristic genre which can but doesn’t have to be be Sci-Fi, which I don’t love a lot…

Anyway, hopefully you guys and this post can help me push to get these books! In no particular order here is my top ten!


 

1) Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

between-shades-of-gray

I’ve seen loads of positive reviews about this book and the title has always stuck with me so I don’t know why I haven’t bought it yet. I am getting to this one in a couple of months.

2) The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

81j3rfxrwml

This is probably the only book I physically own on this list! This was suppose to be on my February TBR but I have so many books already on there! Hopefully I can get to this one this month, because it sounds really interesting.

3) Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meissner

51dv9rusojl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I love past and present stories and I love WW2 evacuation stories. Look how gorgeous the cover is as well! If I could read this book before the summer comes then I would be very happy.

4) Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit

22453727

A new release here! So this was released just last month and loads of booktubers over in the English Lit area have been really excited for it! It follows a girl in (you guessed it) WW2 and about a guy called the Swallow Man. And that’s about how much I know about it, but I know I want to read!

5) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

220px-theboyinthestripedpyjamas

I know, I haven’t read this book! Well, yes I haven’t and I haven’t watched the movie. I know what happens in the book which makes me want to read it more, but I just haven’t got to it yet.

6) The Giver by Lois Lowry

81cjcheqjsl

This is a classic that I am definitely going to read this year and I think it fits the futuristic part of this post. Seriously, the summary makes this book so intriguing I wish I had it with me to read right away.

7) 1984 by George Orwell

1984-by-george-orwell

Another classic! And another book I vow to read before 2016 is up! I read Orwell’s other book Animal Farm last month and loved it! I heard this one is just as interesting.

8) Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

a1bcf-xhe4l

This book was so hyped when it was realised but now I’m starting to see some disapointed reviews about it. I’m going in blank so hopefully the book doesn’t disappoint.

9) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

41l2b4uobkrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

People love this novel to death and always reference it when discussing a deep conversation. I want to kind of catch up on all the love this book gets and jump on the bandwagon.

10) Passenger by Alexander Bracken

alexandra-bracken-passenger

Everyone knows about this book and knows what it’s about so it has to be on this list! The time travel aspects really interest me and I need to check this book out to see if it deserves the hype it got.

Top Ten Tuesday all done! This was a great topic and hopefully I can get through a couple of them during the year. What historical fiction/futuristic books do you want to read or love? Comment down below and I will be sure to comment back!

I’ll write soon.

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

-Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish where they pick a new topic each week for us to create a top ten list to.

 

 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Historical Fiction/ Futuristic Novels That I Want To Read

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    I would highly highly recommend Passenger, and I pretty much have to everyone I’ve spoken to, on WordPress and in person 🙂
    I haven’t read any others on your list but The Boy in the Striped Pajamas is on my to-read list as well, I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for it (and everyone tells me I should read this book).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. remarkablylisa says:

    I’ve read the giver and 1984 out of the selection of books you put in this post. the giver was splendid but i didn’t like 1984 as much as my friends in my high school english class haha. I want to read ready player one soon 🙂 Thanks for making this post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

