Top Ten Tuesday- Middle Grade Books That Have Caught My Attention

Hello, happy Tuesday! Well it actually hasn’t been very happy in the UK as the weather has been horrible. Windy, rainy, cold. This is the side of winter I hate!

Anyway, this weeks TTT is a freebie week! I love this idea as there is such a variety of posts today, so you don’t see the same book coming up five or six times. I was pretty blank of what to cover this week because the field of bookish lists is enormous! But then I realised that I have never talked about middle grade books on this blog. This is probably because I just don’t read MG, but I need to widen my reading field a bit, even if it means reading these ten MG books. Harry Potter is basically half MG and half YA because of how the main character goes from 11-17. Anyway, I want to read some MG during this year and here are some that catch my eye. A reminder that some of these books can possibly fall into YA, but I personally view all of these books as middle grade.


Wonder by R.J. Palacio

81zdsfzjh2bl

Wonder is a very well know middle grade book and I have heard some amazing things about it. I don’t know why, but the cover is very pretty as well- it’s probably the baby blue. But yeah, I am definitely reading this book this year!

George by Alex Gino

31f6dny4nol-_sx339_bo1204203200_

George reminds me of Wonder, I usually pair them up in my head, but this books deals with being transgender. This sounds very interesting as I’ve never (even while reading YA) read a book that deals with this topic straight on. I’m definitely reading this one as well.

The School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

the_school_for_good_and_evil_book_1_cover

The plot for this book sounds so AWESOME! I’ve been seeing this book float around the blogsphere from time to time and saw people reading it in my local library. I think I’m interested in the fact that there is a magical school where people train to be either good or bad. It sounds almost dystopian.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairlyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

51trpzplp5l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

That title is way too long! I don’t know if I love it because it reminds me of P!ATD or hate it because it was a pain to type up. But maybe the title is a good idea, as it really intrigued me, it’s like if you had the challenge of summing up the book in one sentence! This is a must read this year!

The Search For WondLa by Tony Diterlizzi

7327327

This is a graphic novel and this book is the first in a trilogy that is already out. I found out about this trilogy from Regan @ PeruseProject after she gushed about it in one of her videos. I think I just really love the word WondLa. Say it ten times in a row! The the plot sounds pretty cool too.

Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riodan

5162wss0s5l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

This book is hype itself. Maybe that’s why I didn’t want to read it last year. I have not read the whole Percy Jackson series and the rest of them. I might give it a try if I’m bored but I’m more interested in this series. Can someone tell me if I have to read the other books to understand this one in the comments? The UK cover (above) is nothing compared to the USA one.

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

serafina-and-the-black-cloak-final-cover

The cover didn’t encourage me to look deeper into this one, but summary. It reminds of a book I used to read called Rose I think. But basically the book sounds interesting here’s a snippet, check out the rest on goodreads:

Serafina has never had a reason to disobey her pa and venture beyond the grounds of the Biltmore estate. There’s plenty to explore in her grand home, although she must take care to never be seen. None of the rich folk upstairs know that Serafina exists; she and her pa, the estate’s maintenance man, have secretly lived in the basement for as long as Serafina can remember.

Fish In A Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

41jsi7c2bucl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The story in this novel sounds very heart-warming. Sometimes it’s nice to read stories like these in a ‘simpler’ form. I have never read a book about dyslexia as well, so hopefully this book can enlighten me a bit.

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley

51jq6iyfvql-_sy344_bo1204203200_

The word circus drew me in here. Writing about a circus must be a great thing to do because there would be so many things to describe and hopefully the passages will be able to transport the reader. Also one of the questions in the summary is:

Do you believe in magic?

I sure the hell do.

Iris and the Tiger by Leanne Hall

9781925240795

The plot for this book reeks mystery and probably a bit of magic. Hopefully a smidge of magic. The cover for this one is really pretty which is why I want to pick it up. I believe this book comes out tomorrow!


Those are the ten middle grade books that have caught my eye and if I could read at least four of them that are on this list, I will be a happy bunny! Are there any middle grade books you are interested in? Or have you read any in this list? Are you even interested in middle grade? Comment down below and I’ll be sure to comment back!

I’ll write soon.

-Astra

Instagram

Twitter

Goodreads

-Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish where they pick a new topic each week for us to create a top ten list to.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Middle Grade Books That Have Caught My Attention

  1. peculiarb says:

    I dont think you need to read the Percy Jackson series to understand any of the elements in Magnus Chase. You might to look Annabeth up because she’s in this story but, apart from that, I didn’t notice anything that connected the two.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MyBookJacket says:

    I’ve not read middle grade books in a long time but this looks like a fun list. Especially The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairlyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (the title really is way too long) and the Search For WOndla.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kat Impossible says:

    That’s a really interesting topic! I often find myself wondering if I can get into those books or not, because I have a difficult time connecting with characters that are way younger than me, but sometimes it really works. Great TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

