November Wrap Up + December TBR!

Hello! Surprisingly, in November I read books! I know that sounds stupid, but I really didn’t expect to read a lot! I read a total of seven books this month, one of them being a graphic novel so lets just get to them.

October Wrap Up:

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom RiggsA disappointing read sadly because I was really looking forward to it. My review is here.

More Than This by Patrick Ness-  This book restored my faith in Patrick Ness! Just read this book, it’s too brilliant! My review is here.

All Bright Places by Jennifer Niven– Another excellent read this month. I adored the main character Finch and the story as a whole was very solid and very heartbreaking. My review is here.

Maus by Art Spiegelman– This was the graphic novel I was talking about and wow. This was powerful, beautiful and a wonderful combination of words and pictures. My review is here.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins– I liked this book more than I remembered I did. It was just an awesome read and I loved Mockingjay Part 2 as well- a brilliant adaptation. Back to the book, even though this book doesn’t have the Hunger Games, it is still packed with action, deceit and obviously death. If you haven’t read this series yet, what are you waiting for?

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff– This book. I cannot even put into words about my feels for this book. It was epic and by epic I mean VFJFCKNRNJTJOIEWNFRL. This is the first time I’ve read Sci-Fi and my wholly molley did I bloody love it. A more coherent review to come soon.


 

And now for my December TBR!

Harry Potter by J.K Rowling- I am reading the entire Harry Potter series again for the HarryXmasToYou which is a world wide readawatchalongathon (I hope I got that right). This means that you read all of the Harry Potter books and watch all of the eight movies. I am obviously doing the reading part of this, but I’m also going to watch the first three movies as well. Here is there twitter link if you want to find out more.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch– It has snow in the title! And I couldn’t leave it on my shelf any longer, it’s calling me. I can feel it!

Crown of Midnight by Sarah.J.Mass– I actually just need to read this book before I get spoiled.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness- This seems like a quick read, so I thought I might as well read it before the end of the year.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer- If I have the time I will pick this book up and…

To All The Boys I loved Before by Jenny Han-I feel like I haven’t read a contemporary in ages even though I just read All The Bright Places.


 

That’s it! Hopefully December will be a great reading month. What are you thinking of reading this month? Comment down below!

I’ll write soon and merry Christmas!

-Astra

Twitter

Instagram (Bookstagram)

 

 

7 thoughts on “November Wrap Up + December TBR!

  1. Nika says:

    Is Illuminae really that good? I’m thinking about ordering it for Christmas (yes, I buy gifts for myself) but I’m still not sure if this is a book that I want 🙂 I probably will buy it, but I’m afraid that I’ll be disappointed because everyone love it so much.
    Can’t wait to hear what you’ll think about A monster calls and To all the boys I loved before. I just love both of them so much. I think that Ness is an amazing author and Han really surprised me. I really thought that I won’t like her book, but it’s actually one of my favorites of this year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Illuminae is amazing! I definitely recommend you buying it. The plot just gets better and better as the story goes on. I still can’t believe I have to wait until next year to get the sequel. This is a book that deserves the hype. I am going to try and post a review today for it so I will tag you in it if you want to see it! I really hope I like A monster calls as I haven’t heard a bad thing about it, the same with To all the boys I loved before.

      Like

  2. Yvo says:

    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children! I remember finding it slow at points, but I loved the creepy photos. I just got my copy of Illuminae and I can’t wait to read it… And I want to read More Than This soon as well. I enjoyed reading All The Bright Places earlier this year, although I wasn’t blown away by it…

    And awesome December TBR! I loved The Lunar Chronicles and Throne Of Glass (the sequels are way better than the first book!) and a HP reread is always great. I really want to get a copy of both A Monster Calls and Snow Like Ashes soon as well…

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

Leave a Reply

