Scraping The Muse Barrel- NaNoWriMo Week 1 Recap!

Hey guys, I hope your Sunday is brilliant, I am currently slaving away on some Biology homework which forces me to write a lot more than I would even write in English! And as you might probably tell I changed my theme of my blog. I think I just wanted something clearer and lighter, so picked this cute theme. Tell me down below if you like it or not because you’re the ones who will have to see it!

But today’s post isn’t about me failing at life, but me failing at NaNoWriMo (sort of). I have decided to write my story into three parts and I am still on the first part of my first part (I hope that makes sense). Two more days and then I should be on the more interesting parts of my story.

Weekly Word Count: 13, 414 words

So currently I am on top of my NaNoWriMo game! I am seriously shocked by this because yesterday was a really bad day for me.

Now even though I missed the word count by 200 words yesterday, that wasn’t the problem. I think I hit a writer’s block, or really tripped on pieces of a writers block. I was writing well for a few minutes but then I just could write anything after. It was super hard to write and I just couldn’t bring myself to even write the 200 words I needed make the word count. Six hundred worlds before that I was writing utter crap. I was on a scene that I really didn’t expect or want to write. The characters were doing there own thing and I couldn’t write to compensate that.

I went to bed feeling frustrated and defeated. 200 words was all I had to write and I couldn’t even write a sentence more.

I woke up today and didn’t write anything, I wanted to distance myself from the crap I wrote just yesterday.

Why couldn’t I just have a break for one day from NaNo? I am kind of ashamed to say I was thinking so negatively even though I just missed the word count by 200 words, but I was. I wasn’t going to give up though, I just need to have a break. And I did, for the whole  day until I sat myself in front of my google docs page and forced myself to write my 1667 words and an extra 200.

I did it to cut a long story short and I think that little stumble has made me realise something; I can’t expect to only give myself an hour at the end of the day and come out with something brilliant because I won’t. I do need to give myself more time and take off some pressure I have on myself. NaNoWriMo should be fun!

Next week is a new week anyway and there are only three weeks to go! I feel like I am having a bigger realisation now about writing in general, but I won’t disclose that yet.

Good luck to all of my fellow writers out there and keep the faith! WE CAN DO THIS!

I’ll write soon!

-Astra

NaNoWriMo

Twitter

Instagram

11 thoughts on “Scraping The Muse Barrel- NaNoWriMo Week 1 Recap!

  1. impossiblegirl123 says:

    You definitely shouldn’t pressure yourself like that! It’s okay not to hit the daily word count goal and it’s also okay if you take a day’s break. If you’re not happy with what you are writing, none of this makes sense.
    But, I also want you to remember that this is a first draft. NaNoWriMo should help you get a first draft ready that serves as the outline for the novel it may become one day. So don’t stress too much about whether it’s perfect or not.
    Good on you for sticking with it though. Happy writing ;)!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. LyfWithEm says:

    I did NaNoWriMo for two consecutive years, but unfortunately I’m not doing it this year because it’s so time consuming and school, exams and extra-curricular activities don’t allow for it 😦 Stay motivated though, I’m excited to see you win!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

