Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

IMG_5983-0

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

My Rating: 3.5- 4.0

Goodreads Rating: 3.81

Summary (Goodreads): 

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.


Cover: 4/5

The cover really has some big quirky factor and what initially drew me to this book at the book store.


Review:

This book was totally different from what I expected it to be. I guess that’s what the book should do- surprise you, but I don’t really know if I was feeling the surprise really.

I think I am recognising this feeling as disappointment again, but I don’t think this was a bad book at all, but I did certainly have some issues with this book. The start was so fantastic and then it turned into a muddy mess a a bit.

Plot:

There’s not much I can say without giving away the story, but really this story is about Jacob and discovering his grandfather’s past which turns out to be more dangerous and magical than Jacob could of ever realised. I feel like the summary of this book was a little misguiding in some aspects, so when I started reading this book and kind of got midway I just had to stop and think what the hell is this book about?

Jacob had one real solid goal and then after he reached that goal, it was like he was dilly dallying for a good number of pages. The big reveal about the Home was introduced to early I feel which kind of funked up the pacing which made it weird.

The plot was interesting and intriguing enough for me to be hooked but the later half of the book just seemed like another plot was thrown in there in a rushed way. This book could of easily been one nice book wrapped up with a nice ending, but the second element of the book just really disjointed the story altogether.

Writing:

The writing was very nice and smooth. The words flowed seamlessly most of the time and it was in a very sophisticated fashion (maybe a little too sophisticated for a seventeen year old from time to time). Also Riggs descriptions were very atmospheric as well, I could see all of the locations he described like a had a picture of all of these places.The more adventurous scenes at the end of the book were written with complete clarity, meaning that the scene didn’t read as rushed blur. Everything was in detail though you could sense the urgency and pressure of all things

One thing the writing did lack though was feeling. I felt kind of disconnected to the story, like I could see everything from a bird’s eye view but not right beside Jacob.

Characters:

I’m in two minds about Jacob. On one hand he is a witty, courageous and on the other he is annoying and some sort of naivety about him. In the first half the novel I really like his character and how he was written, but then slowly he got caught up by love (I’ll get to that later) and the excitement of the Perculiar children that his character almost seemed to dull a bit.

Now Emma. I strongly dislike the Jacob and Emma romance. It felt a little insta lovey for me and very predictable. It was not needed for the development of the story and it’s creepy on many levels. Emma on her own was a is rounded character I think and I look forward to reading more of her development in Hollow City.

The rest of the perculiar children in generally are likeable character and I like how they are mature, but have very childish tendencies. Hopefully we get to meet them more in depth in the next installment.

BONUS- Photos:

Now we all know this story is a bit different because it includes black and white pictures. I think I enjoyed this element in the story more than I disliked it. I liked it because we got to see some of the characters as what the authors sees and wants us to see them as and it added a sense of anticipation and creepiness to the book which it boosted from. Why I didn’t like it was because that we as the reader couldn’t really see the characters as WE want to see them. I have a set image of the characters in my head and then you turn the page and go oh that’s what they are suppose to look like. Secondly, sometimes I felt the photos were just written in their to show the picture not because it added any extra value to the plot.

What I liked:

  • The descriptive pieces of writing
  • The first half of the book
  • A handful of photos which helped the story in a unique way
  • Some of the plot twists got me gasping.

What I disliked:

  • The second half of the book was pretty meh
  • The romance definitely!
  • Some random unnecessary photos
  • The sometimes disjointed plot

Verdict: Though this book had a really great idea in it’s hands, the execution went a little askew in the end. The writing was a joy yo read and even though I disliked the romance it wasn’t a big part in the book and when the plot wasn’t disjointed it was a pleasure to read. A recommend if you like plot twisty books and black and white pictures with your book and tea 🙂

I’ll write soon.

-Astra

9 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. impossiblegirl123 says:

    I think there was a mix-up with the title and the author you put in the beginning :/ (it says The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness)
    I personally didn’t like Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children all that much. I was just so conflicted about the characters because I couldn’t place them in my head. They were quite old, but they acted like little children and looked like that too, which made it even more difficult to imagine any sort of romantic relationships for them. Also, I agree with you on the story. It took me a long time to really get what it was about.

    Like

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you-trust me to do something like that!
      It’s good to hear another people wasn’t really keen on it too as it is such a popular book/series. Yeah I get what you mean about the characters. Riggs didn’t really define them clear enough so that we could group them (if that makes sense). The story was changing every couple of chapters which made it hard to follow yes.

      Like

  2. Ayunda says:

    I absolutely agree, this book was very disappointing. I’ve heard so many good things about it and the cover seems really good, but after reading it I felt like the book was like a badly written children’s book. I actually rated it 2/5 stars.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Yeah I get why you would be really disappointed for this book. People said this was going to be really creepy and scary and there was really no scares at all. I think i could of tilted toward the 3 mark but I had to completely get rid of the view that it would be a scary read and saw it as a really slow adventure book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

