Meet Ophelia- NaNoWriMo #3

Hey guys…I made a character. Meet Ophelia….and that’s all I have, a name.

Jokes! (Only slightly)

I have a solid plot and now I am just building up my characters which is actually a fun process. These are some words from my notebook about Ophelia that I have scribbled down.

Ophelia Willow

14 years old but then 17 after time jump.

Gentle normally but has a lot of pent up anger, quickly trusting which leads her into unsavory trouble. A good friend- recklessly brave. Explosive temper when really infuriated- (later in novel).

Mannerism: Likes to hold people’s hands as she can sense whether they are powerful or not by the amount of energy in them. Touches hair but quickly stops because she doesn’t want her hair to become tangled.

Appearance: Brown skin- mocha? Kinky hair which doesn’t blow in the wind and it reaches the end of her neck- Jet Black. A scar from childhood spots on her left check. Full lipped, smallish nose and forehead. Long and skinny.

And there is more, but that is how the start of my notes look like. I have different character profiles in my head and I think over the weekend I will start putting them on paper. If you didn’t guess by the little extract I am doing a fantasy type of novel and I will tell you one thing more….it involves the basic elements!

I will disclose more closer to November, but that’s all your getting for now (hehehehe).

How are you characters shaping up? Can I say hi to them? Comment below about how your getting on with NaNoWriMo!

I’ll write soon 🙂

-Astra

11 thoughts on “Meet Ophelia- NaNoWriMo #3

  1. Becca says:

    Awe I’m really glad to hear your novel prep is coming along well! Ophelia. That’s such a pretty name! And she sounds like a fantastic character.
    I think sometime this weekend if I have time, or the next coming week ill run my characters through the Myer-Briggs test to better understand them. Ive been dealing with them (in my head) for some time but i want to get to know them better. Theres so much potential, so much to them thats hidden. But thats the beauty of writing; getting to better understand the characters you created.
    Good luck on the rest of your prepping! We’ve got a week and a half left! Yikes! Its going by too fast

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Thank you Becca! I thought Ophelia was a little bit too fancy at the start, but now I think the name fits her character loads.
      That’s the next step for me, the Myer-Briggs test- so I can make sure my characters are in tip top condition. You are so right about there being so much potential, I think I need to start separating my brainstorm into things I actually need and things I don’t hahaha.
      Good luck to you too for your characters as well, I would love to hear about them!
      I know! I can’t wait, but I am so scared too! I don’t want to screw up this NaNoWriMo, thank god there is a half term coming up so I can do some serious planning!

      Like

  2. impossiblegirl123 says:

    Introducing your character like that was a great idea! Maybe I’ll do the same for mine on my blog … we’ll see. I still haven’t figured out all too much about my novel. I know the main premise, but none of the steps in between. My MC’s are Wick and Clara and I know exactly how they look and how I want them to be, but I can only hope to translate that to the page.
    Good luck for NaNo and the rest of prepping :D!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

