Ten popular books/series that I haven’t read yet

Happy Sunday guys! How’s your day going? Well I should really be doing some French revision because I seriously failed my listening and reading exams, but I had this great idea for a post so I am throwing caution to the wind! 

So this list isn’t really in any particular order and some of these books/series are on my TBR list and some I just don’t have any interest in reading or I tried and failed in reading the series. Let’s get to this list then!

10. The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer

  

I just thought I should get this one out the way. I don’t have any interest in reading this series because I’m not keen on werewolves and vampires. Also I don’t think Bella is my kind of female protagonist.

9.The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

  

I really want to try and read this series, so I can contently read the Clockwork series as well. I at least have to read City Of Bones.

8. Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sánez

  

First of all the cover is amazing. Second of all I have read such good things about this book! I like how the two main characters are not your typical white, heterosexuals. I little diversity never hurt nobody.

7. The Lunar Chronicals by Marissa Meyer

  

I have heard SO much about this series it’s unbelievable. It’s a miracle that I haven’t been spoiled yet! I am planning to get the first book this month to read for November. I am a totally fan of fairytale retelligs and I can’t wait to read this one!

7. The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

  

Yes I have only read the first book and I rated it a 3 out of 5 stars. I was not a fan of Tris or the writing to be honest, so I won’t be finishing off the trilogy…probably.

6. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  

Yeah this just sounds like a lovey dovey contemporary that I just do not feel like getting into. If you have read this series please comment below and tell me if you liked it or not. From the people I’ve talked to they say that it is a very romancey novel.

5. Wonder by R.J Palacio, Raquel Jaramillo

  

This book sounds like a book everyone should read. I don’t know if I’m going to get to read it before the end of the year, but I do definitely want to read it.

4. The Remnant Chronicals by Mary E. Pearson

  

This cover slays! I am usually not a fan of books with a person on the front but this cover actually intrigues me so much! It’s one if those books that are just always there on your TBR pile wanting to be read. It needs to be a mission of mine to get this book before Christmas before it gets shoved down to the bottom on my pile.

3. The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy by J.R.R Tolkien

  

I enjoyed reading the Hobbit (even though it took me about a month to read) but the LOTR trilogy is on a completely other level. You have to be really committed to read those books because the books are so dense! I don’t know if I could ever concentrate that hard on just one trilogy and I feel like even if I did o wouldn’t be enjoying the experience.

2. The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner

  

I got 60-100 pages in and could not finish The Maze Runner. The writing was just not for me at all. I’m going to try again to read it again (probably next year or later this year if I have nothing to read), but I will definitely be wary before reading another one of Dashner’s books.

1.  Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 

  
I found it so hard to get into this book last summer that I did not try to read it again this year. It was so disappointing for me as well not to get into this book because I thought I was okay with reading Classics. I am not giving up with Austen though, I just have to be in the mood for her.

And there are ten books/series I haven’t read before. What popular books have you not read? Drop a comment down below so I can see how bad I’m doing! 

I’ll write soon.

-Astra

 

19 thoughts on “Ten popular books/series that I haven’t read yet

  1. Maria says:

    I’m with you on Pride and Prejudice! I haven’t made it through that one either, but I actually found Persuasion much easier to read.

    Definitely read Wonder! One of my favorite books of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becca says:

    Aristotle and Dante was so good! I’ve only read Cinder but it was really good so i think you’ll like the series. Anna and The French Kiss was good; very cutsy and romancey but Lola was better. I just read City of Bones! I honestly hope the rest of the series i better; i heard they are. Half of these i havent ready either, and I probably should also haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sibillerose says:

    I just finished reading the LOTR novels back in august (I gave a quick review of each on my blog if you’re interested). I thought the same thing about the books at first too, but once you get into them, they are much easier to read than everyone says they are (especially if you have watched the movies and thus have an idea of the course of events – mostly how the timelines intertwine).

    I have also read/love The Mortal Instruments series. I have read all but the last book (this is on my to-read shelf, I just have yet to get to it). Honestly, you can stop after book 3 if you want. The first 3 books read as one story arc and the second 3 are another one. I was iffy about the 4th book when I first read it because of how the story shifts, but once I got to the 5th book I liked the 4th a lot more and am bidding my time till I can get back to read the 6th.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Trisha Ann says:

    YOU SHOULD READ DIVERGENT AND THE INFERNAL DEVICES! I liked Anna and the French Kiss for its simplicity, relaxing theme. But I don’t want to shove it on you especially if you’re against characters with first-world problems and overly perfect-looking leads. Exactly my pet peeves on the novel

    Liked by 1 person

  5. victorialoder says:

    Regarding Stephanie Perkin’s books, I’m not super into contemporary (I lean more towards fantasy or horror now), but I absolutely loved them. I wouldn’t say they’re over-the-top romancey, or Romeo-and-Juliet type of love-at-first sight things. They’re mature novels that take teenagers seriously. The characters are well thought-out and developed. I really enjoy them and Stephanie Perkin’s writing is really great.
    In terms of Cassandra Clare’s books, I hated the first book in the series. Clary is incredibly immature in my opinion, the pacing was very slow, many of the characters were pretty two-dimensional and, just a warning to you, if you don’t like vampires and werewolves, you’re going to have a problem with that in this book, because they’re in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. selinn92 says:

    You definitely don’t need to read The Mortal Instruments series before getting into The Infernal Devices. I read TID first and it was amazing! (While reading TMI, I actually missed those characters A LOT.) May I also recommend Pride and Prejudice and Zombies after you’ve read Pride and Prejudice? I loved PPZ because it empowered the women and it was not ridiculous, which I had assumed like many others who have heard of it before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

