NaNoWriMo- A Newbie’s Perspective

I’m probably not good at writing. Actually I am probably terrible at writing. I don’t even think that I want to be a writer when I’m older. I barely have a spare two hours after all of my studies.

And yet I am doing NaNoWriMo.

I first heard about this when I dabbled in a bit of fanfiction (it was a eight month stint- don’t judge, don’t judge) and I person on one of the forums said something about NaNoWriMo. My schedule was already so full writing fanfiction anyway, so I didn’t do any further research into the topic.

And then I heard about it when one of the blogs that I follow did a NaNoWriMo post which triggered my attention. I love writing with all my heart, but a novel…in ONE MONTH!

But I always fancied a challenge and joined anyway. I have so many stories in my head, so it was easy to pick one I formulate to more depth than the others.

I think my fanfiction days will help in this competition a lot but still I have read that people have whole outlines and character profiles and pinterest boards ( I just made one yesterday and I can see why this helps writers) and I feel pathetically unorganised. I know I am one of those writers who can’t always write things down to brainstorm- I always keep most of my ideas in my head- so many things that are going to be written during NaNoWriMo will be from saucepan to fire (or whatever the phrase is).

I have a story, title and some characters already, but still it feels like I should come into the battlefield with my weapons, more ideas.

Maybe this is just beginners nerves, but I really just I can get through this NaNoWriMo. Even if I come out the other end with a few cuts and bruises.

Hopefully not me during NaNoWriMo

Are you are you a novice or a pro? Please jot down anyway tips, experiences or anything NaNoWriMp related in the comments. I want to meet everyone in the blogging community who is doing this.

I will probably do more posts like this in the future, but I think I will post a review for the Young Elites by Marie Lu to celebrate the second book in the series coming out, The Rose Society. So stay tuned!

I will write soon.

-Astra

14 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo- A Newbie’s Perspective

  1. impossiblegirl123 says:

    This year marks the second time that I am doing NaNoWriMo. I was so surprised but also super proud when I made it to 50,000 last year.
    I jotted down some tips on my blog for NaNoWriMo and also recently announced my second time participation. If you want to check it out, here’s the link to that: https://theimpossiblegirlblog.wordpress.com/2015/10/12/nanowrimo-2015-participation-beautiful-books-link-up/

    In general I would just say, don’t be nervous and go with the flow! It’s okay if you get stuck sometimes and always remember that whatever you are writing is just a first draft. You can edit it all later on, NaNo is about finishing a draft, not about the quality of the story. In the end you should have a framework for something that has a lot of potential.

    I hope you have fun with it and happy NaNo-ing :D!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ghostystories says:

    YAY! its great you’ve decided to do NaNoWriMo! It’s honestly a lot of fun; don’t let the word goal scare you. To make it less daunting is to create a weekly goal word count that in the end will add up to 50k. It’s a lot smaller number to handle and not overwhelm you as much. There’s a website and I don’t know the name of it, but i will find the link and have it in an up coming post, that allows you to fill out preferences and tells you how many words you need to write each/week in order to meet your goal. That was pretty handy. I’m releasing a bunch coming in the next couple of weeks for assistance on NaNo, so if you have any questions ill be happy to help out! Don’t be ashamed of writing fanfiction, i still dwaddle in it. It’s fun and lighter to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Than you for the encouragement! I think the word count is a really worry for me, but I like the idea of looking at the word count as a weekly thing. I don’t know how I’m writing 1,667 (I think it’s that number) a DAY but I guess you just have to keep writing.

      Like

  3. sibillerose says:

    It’s awesome you decided to attempt NaNo! I’ve heard of this event frequently before, but it’s something I haven’t had the heart to try my own hand at, but after reading your post (and these other comments) I think it may be something I should do as well, just to finally finish a full draft (I have at least 3 started — with character plots, plot outline, etc) but I haven’t gotten too much further. It’s encouraging to see other first-timers thinking about the event. Good luck with this and I’ll definitely be interested in hearing some updates on your project!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Yay! I feel happy that I persuaded you to join even after my post about worrying about it. Maybe my excitement shone through? Anyway, I haven’t did no preparation so I’m going to spend the rest of October planning and outlining my story ready for November. Good luck to you too and I will try to make updates as informative as I can when I can. 🙂 Newbies unite!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ayunda says:

    I’ve only done Nanowrimo three times and it was like 5 years ago, the last one failed because I stopped writing in the middle of the month and I didn’t have the courage to try it again? Maybe next year I’ll sum up the willpower to do it again… Good luck for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

