Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

  

  
I swear this blog is going to be more than tags, but tags are so fun. A review for Fangirl should come soon- soon meaning tomorrow if I’m lucky-, so I think I can have a little fun today! I was tagged by the amazing  impossiblegirl123 and brilliant  , and I felt really giddy after because I haven’t gotten tagged before, but anyway please check out their blogs because their awesome.

Lets got on with the tag before a blab you all to death.

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like

This is so hard because I hardly dislike books because I always choose books that I know I will like, but a series does come to mind…

  
Yes, the Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner. Before you start hurling rocks at me, I absolutely love the the concept of these books…..the execution…..less slow. The thing is Dashner’s writing wasn’t really gripping for me and he told a lot to the reader instead of showing it. I simply couldn’t finish the first book. I am going to try again in the near future, but yeah, I didn’t really like it.

2. A popular book that everyone hates but you love

Gosh these questions are hard…umm…the first books that come to mind is the Fury trilogy.    

  
 
Now I don’t think everyone hates this book, but I don’t really hear anything good about this trilogy either. I loved this trilogy a few years ago and even reread the second book earlier this year. The plot was really unique to me at the time and I loved the fact that the beautiful girls were the ones that will rip your heart out in the end.

3. A love triangle where your ship did not sail OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I am going for the second part of the question and say the (I don’t know if this is a spoiler, but HP SPOILER just in case 🙂 ) the Harry/Ginny ship in Harry Potter.

  
Please don’t kill me! Just because I don’t support the ship doesn’t mean I hate all canon and all canon relationship and wish Ginny ended up with a Squirrel instead. I don’t like the ship because I felt it was really rushed in Half Blood Prince and we didn’t really get those nice moments with them in the book. I just can’t ship this pairing, but I tolerate it all the same.

4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for.

Science Fiction! I just can’t get into it, which I don’t understand because I absolutely love Doctor Who! I could of easily said Paranormal, but I loved the Unearthly series by Cynthia Hand. You guys help! If you have any good Sci-Fi recommendations please comment below because I hate feeling like I’m missing out.

5. A beloved character you didn’t like

Beatrice, Tris, or whatever she wants to call herself from the Divergent Series by Veronica Roth.

  
I did read the first book and I found it okay but I wasn’t into Tris at all. I found that she didn’t really have any depth. I felt nothing for her, and I think the main protagonist of the series should create some sort of attachment to the reader, but I felt zilch.

6. A popular author you can’t get into

Dan Brown is the author I have to name here. My dad LOVES his books, but I just have no interest in reading them. I know, sooner or later, I will end up reading at least  one of his books, but at the moment I will have to turn my back on the author for now.

7. A popular books series you have no interest in reading

(Smiles evilly) The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer.

  
I have read some bit of pieces from Twilight and I just did not feel it. I know you shouldn’t let other people’s opinions affect you, but I feel like I have soaked up all of the negativity like a sponge and even if I did read it, I wouldn’t be with a clear mind or heart.

8. An adaptation you like better than the book

Yes! An easy question. The Hobbit trilogy! I am like the biggest fan of the Hobbit trilogy (after my dad of course) and I just can’t get enough of the movies. I did read the book after the last movie came out. I don’t know if that did alter my reading experience, but I found the Hobbit a tricky and dense book to read- I think it must of took me a month or something. That doesn’t mean the book wasn’t good, I really enjoyed reading it, but the movies were much more gripping and interesting for me.

  


ALL DONE! Now if you want to do the tag, just do it! It was loads of fun and I’m pretty sure you would enjoy it too. Now I think I am off to hide away from all of the fans I must of upset from this post.

6 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag!

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    I myself enjoyed The Maze Runner, but I can definitely understand why you didn’t! I found the first book went kind of slow for a lot of it as well, but I ended up enjoying it and the series. I think you might enjoy the movies more though, have you seen the first or second (The Scorch Trials)? 🙂
    So glad you did the tag! ❤
    ~Analee @ Book Snacks

    Like

  2. SarahClare says:

    Harry and Ginny? Bleh. I’m with you on that one. Their pairing is absolute nonsense. That said, I do think it comes across as sweet in the films. But no.

    I love SF! I’m not sure what I would recommend though. The Red Rising series by Pierce Brown is phenomenal (in my opinion).

    Like

Leave a Reply

