October TBR!

 
Hello hello! I know these post is a little late, but better late than never is how the saying goes. In the picture you can see that these are just the physical copies I have at the moment of the books I want to/have read. My TBR number is the same as last month, 6, and September was a great reading month for me, so hopefully I can duplicate my success.

So let’s get on with my TBR!

I’m going to start the books I have read already which are The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I started The Miniaturist at the start of the week and finished it on the 2nd October (2:43 am to be exact!) and I enjoyed reading it so much I did a review on it and you can view it here. Fangirl was next and I LOVED this book. From the plot to the main character, it just oozed great contemporary. I am going to do a review on this book soon because I have so much to say!  Anyway, two great reads for the start of October.

The next book I am going to be reading is The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. I tend not to read books that fall into Nazi Germany just because I find the books a tad to depressing, but I am giving this book a shot because I have heard amazing things and it is interesting that the narrator is death its self. That was a definite hook for me.

Next I will be reading my dad’s beaten down copy of The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. This is a book that is a guarantee you have to read and I am slightly embarrassed to say I haven’t read it, but that is to be corrected soon. By just flipping quickly through the pages, I can see that the font is a tad small and the summary isn’t as gripping as other books I have read. However, I have faith in this book (it just might take me a bit longer to read).

Now if my purse is generous, I am going to get some more books to add to my TBR. One of them is definitely Carry On by Rainbow Rowell which, if you have read Fangirl would now, is the novel the main character in Fangirl is writing throughout the book. I am just loving Rainbow Rowell for even considering this idea, and I am just hoping that I can get myself a copy of this book before the month is out.


Another book I am hoping to get is The Rose Society by Marie Lu which is the second book of the Young Elites trilogy. If you read my September wrap up you would know that I loved that the main protagonist was an anti-hero and I can’t wait to see how her story develops and unwraps in the second book.


Lastly, I have to get my hands on a horror book. By either buying or borrowing; it doesn’t matter to me. People have recommended loads of Stephen King books to read, but I would love to know if you have any recommendations for a horror book.

And that is my October TBR! What is yours? Comment below if you want to share!

-Astra

@astrangersguide (my twitter!)

9 thoughts on “October TBR!

  1. BookWhore: Kat says:

    I have to say that I read the Book Thief this past August and I didn’t really get all the hype until the end. Then I got it.
    I’m super excited to read the Rose Society, too! Unfortunately, that will have to wait until next month :/ You’ll have to let me know what you think. Just to say, I haven’t read Kite Runner either, but good luck! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Stranger's Guide to Novels says:

      Oh really, well I just started reading it and I find weird at the moment- I think it’s writing- but that’s what attracted me to this book, so that’s fine. I will definitely be able to read The Rose Society this month because me friend pre-order it, so I will just read it after her and then get a physical copy later. Thanks! I haven’t read those kind of books before so I can’t wait to start reading it after The Book Thief.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. caityreads says:

    Fangirl is probably my favorite book, ever. I related to Cath in such a real way, it was crazy. I also, really loved The Book Thief. I took me a little while to get into, and I think it was because I had to adjust to the writing style. But it’s just such a beautiful and moving book. I hope you love it as much as I did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

